Noise Cancellation Experts? Have PC Muffler Idea-need help!

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

What do you think of this idea?

Poll ended at Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:55 pm

I am Acoustic Expert and it WILL work!
No votes
I am Acoustic Expert and it WON'T work!
38%
I am NOT an Expert but it Looks COOL!
25%
I am NOT an Expert but it Sounds DUMB!
38%

Total votes: 8

cuban8

Noise Cancellation Experts? Have PC Muffler Idea-need help!

Post by cuban8 » Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:55 pm

Ok, I have been racking my brains for the last week on how to make a very silent computer and come up with the following wild idea.

I am pretty good making wood cabinets and thought of making a PC case - actually more like a stand about the size of a small filing cabinet maybe 18 inches wide, 24 deep and 29 tall.

My idea is this: I could put the board and all the components in it and build a "muffler" inside the cabinet using a noise-cancelling echo chamber. I know it's crude but thought it may just work.

Here are the details,
When my CPU fan runs at 10,000 rpm, it has it's first sound frequency spike at about 585 Hz which would make it's L/4 wavelength about 5.88 inches. I know the frequency because I used the following freeware program http://www.visualizationsoftware.com/gr ... /gram7.zip and my computer's microphone to find them.

If my understanding of noise cancellation is correct, all I have to do is tune all my other fans to run so that each of their natural frequeny spikes occur at multiples to one another.

If I adjust my 120mm case fan to run at 1650 rpm, it has it's first sound frequency spike at about 195 Hz and L/4 wavelength of about 17.6 inches - 3x the CPU L/4).

With these fans tuned to one another at these speeds,
the L/4 of my Case fan is 17.6 inches which is exactly 3 times the L/4 of the CPU fan.