120mm fan recommendations

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

MAX_Chase

120mm fan recommendations

Post by MAX_Chase » Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:25 am

Hi all. Whilst I am not new to PC's, I am new to running a silent PC. It's taking over my life!

I am interested in reducing the noise and improving the airflow into my Akasa Eclipse case which is currently colled by 2x 120mm Akasa Amber fans.

I am torn between the Noctua fan and the Nexus, but am confused by the conflicting stories of CFM figures being correct.

Can anyone recommend a quiet and effective fan (maybe even one of the 2 I mention) to replace the incumbent ones please?

gb115b
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by gb115b » Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:47 am

i think you're airflow woud probably decrease... but the noise would decrease more rapidly...

as a newcomer to this, i think you'd find either of those fan options fine (there really isn't much between them)

i'd also recommend the scythe series as well.

I used the D series with a fan controller that can give me a little extra airflow if i need it + allegedly better bearing quality...

dhanson865

Post by dhanson865 » Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:57 am

I'd recommend the 120mm Yate Loon. I've bought a couple for less than half the price of a Nexus and they are basically the same fan (color scheme and 12v RPM are the only differences I know of).

http://www.jab-tech.com/YATE-LOON-120mm ... -3009.html $3.50 US plus S&H

You end up with a 1300 rpm fan instead of a 1000 RPM fan but if you wan't more airflow thats OK and if you don't you can just run it at 7v or 5v and it will be plenty quiet.

MAX_Chase

Post by MAX_Chase » Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:42 pm

Thanks for the replies, chaps.