Where do I start, Toshiba? Fujitsu?

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

freelance84

Where do I start, Toshiba? Fujitsu?

Post by freelance84 » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:05 am

I'm new to this forum, hello, my name is John.

I think my laptop has finally had enough with me. It was a cheap one at the time of purchase, a Dell Inspiron 1545. It isn't that old, about 2 and a half years, yet now when i turn it on to do even simple tasks the fan kicks in making it sound like a full size hoover which drives me totally insane if I want to do any work on it. Also today the transformer stopped working all together (I have had to wire it up to an old transformer I had kicking around [did you know that Dell have decided to not use a standard connector either, they used a weird octagonal effort, see the pic attached]).

I am a web developer / programmer by trade and typically use my laptop for 1) coding 2) the odd bit of image creation manipulation with GIMP or similar 3) video calling 4) listening to music 5) Just taking my office to somewhere else, the train, home.. etc etc.

Right now as I write this post with only firefox running the fan is a constant dull drone in the background, too high pitched to ignore and too loud to live with. Why on earth any manufacturer would decide to build a laptop with such an annoying fan is beyond me! Secondly the fan is under the blummin thing. Now i am not an engineer but something tells me that the best place for a fan to cool this little monster down is NOT under it but maybe on top. I personally am anti apple (feel free to quiz why) but one thing they have managed to achieve (in my opinion) is a good placement of the fan, it sits on top just under the screen so the user can't obstruct it by using it like a laptop and placing it say, on a table! OK, rant over.