Help with a new build (Case & Cooling)

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Snowh

Help with a new build (Case & Cooling)

Post by Snowh » Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:27 pm

Hi. This is my first build and I am rather inexperienced. I would like http://pcpartpicker.com/p/h6P8Bm this build to run as quietly as possible. I am looking for suggestions for the case, and suggestions for the cooling setup in said case. What I have planned currently is the Corsair Obsidian 750D, but there is probably a better option. I'd prefer for the case to be <200$. Any other tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

CA_Steve

Re: Help with a new build (Case & Cooling)

Post by CA_Steve » Wed Aug 12, 2015 6:11 am

Welcome to SPCR.

Before drilling down into part selection, could you describe your uses/apps for this PC as well as the monitor resolution/speed? That will help to optimize the component list.

Also, if you aren't driven to immediately build this PC, Intel's Skylake CPUs are out/on the way. It could be worth waiting 2-3 months (for bugs to appear/be fixed and drivers/firmware updates to settle down) and doing the build then.

Snowh

Post by Snowh » Wed Aug 12, 2015 8:31 am

CA_Steve wrote:Welcome to SPCR.

Before drilling down into part selection, could you describe your uses/apps for this PC as well as the monitor resolution/speed? That will help to optimize the component list.

Also, if you aren't driven to immediately build this PC, Intel's Skylake CPUs are out/on the way. It could be worth waiting 2-3 months (for bugs to appear/be fixed and drivers/firmware updates to settle down) and doing the build then.