House Selling

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

andyb
Patron of SPCR

House Selling

Post by andyb » Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:24 pm

I am currently looking at estate agents ("Realtors" the other side of the pond) to figure out who I want to use to sell my house.

With the first estate agent I have suddenly bumped into an unexpected issue, there are more than one way to sell a house. The new way (around here) is not the "traditional" way.... let me explain, and please do add your experiences where appropriate.

The traditional way (as I understand it, I am a novice this is the first house that I will have sold), is that you (the seller) chooses an estate agent and you pay a fee, typically either a fixed amount or a percentage of the sale value of the property.

The new way (around here, I understand its popular in Scotland) and its called "Sealed Tender's" or "Sealed Bids", some detailed info here (found by a Google search).

http://www.in-deed.net/conveyancing/con ... m-property

The short version is that you let a load of people look at the property, they then have a few weeks to chose whether or not to sign a document listing a "bid" that they would like to make on the property. The "sealed" part of this and why its often referred to as a "tender" is because all of the bids/tenders are all opened at the same time and the one who bids the most "wins" the property.

There are a couple of caveats, if no-one makes a bid/tender that I regard as high-enough, it can be put out to another tender (at no extra cost to me), I can also chose to sell the property to anyone who has made a bid/tender and not just the person who is offering the largest sum.

---

Now I have that out of the way, there are a number of positives and negatives with this option vs the "traditional" method.

Positives: