Which video heatsink?

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Jaik

Which video heatsink?

Post by Jaik » Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:18 am

I've been haunting the site for 4 or 5 months now and have found all kinds of wonderful stuff, even got caught up in the F@H craze. I had to dump my Volcano 7 :evil: and mod my power supply 8)

Longwinded Summary:
I have an MSI GForce4 Ti 4200 64MB card. It's the loudest thing in my system and I deperately want to ditch the fan. I've tried unplugging the fan and running passive, but the sink gets almost too hot to touch. I don't think putting an L1A across it would work, since the sink has a piece of plastic on top, supposedly to force the air through the fins. Oh yeah, one of the mounting pins keeps slipping so every week or so I have to go in and reseat the dangling heatsink. :?

I've been considering the ZM80. Those giant heatsink and the heatpipe are pretty cool, but they're also big and heavy and every couple of weeks I hump this thing over to a buddy's house for some LAN'ing. I've also been looking at the ZM17 and the Alpha black micro-fin heatsinks (available at xoxide).

So, does a 4200 require a ZM80-level cooler, or will something smaller work? How good are the Alphas? Is passive acceptable or do I need a fan?

Oh, and thanks for all the advice I've already found and used! :D

miker
Patron of SPCR

Post by miker » Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:49 am

IMO, the ZM80A is the minimum to get decent cooling, and even with that I have to use a little directed airflow on my Ti4200 to get good performance. Totally passive, in a low airflow case, the thing just doesn't get it done.