Advice on building quiet PC

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

face

Advice on building quiet PC

Post by face » Thu Sep 18, 2014 11:24 am

I'm a newbie to the silent PC topic, but I try to catch up quickly! :-) Now I would like to build a quiet PC to replace my noisy one. My main goal is that when I use it only for browsing or watching films (it is about 80% of time) it should be quite silent. Also when I play games it should be bearable. I'm not a heavy gamer, so I don't need anything too powerful, I mainly play with Fifa and Hearthstone :-)

My budget is 500 € at top for it and I realize that I won't be able to build a totally silent machine, but that is not necessary, it just needs to be reasonably silent.

My shop list is the following currently:
  • Case: Cooler Master N300 (NSE-300-KKN1)
  • Video card: SAPPHIRE R7 250 1GB GDDR5 Ultimate (11215-04-40G)
  • Motherboard: ASRock FM2A55M HD+ (mATX) (AMD-FM2+)
  • Memory: Kingston DDR-3 4GB /1600 ValueRAM (KVR16N11S8/4)
  • CPU: AMD Athlon II X4 740 BOX (sFM2) (AD740XOKHJBOX)
  • PSU: Be Quiet! 500W System Power (S7-BN144)
I have the following questions:
  • What CPU cooler should I choose? I tried to find a proper one, but I'm not sure that I should choose a big one like the Noctua coolers, it seems a little overkill.
  • Is it worth to invest to a passive PSU? It can be pricey compared to my other items and I guess a PSU with a good speed controlled fan can be good too (but maybe not that one above).
  • What motherboard should I choose to have a decent fan control? Should I be worried about it or I just need to wire 5V for the fans to slow them down? :-)
Please feel free to criticize anything above and thanks for any advice! :-)

CA_Steve

Re: Advice on building quiet PC

Post by CA_Steve » Thu Sep 18, 2014 1:56 pm

Welcome to SPCR.