Mini ITX gaming on a tight budget.

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

lieto

Mini ITX gaming on a tight budget.

Post by lieto » Wed Aug 05, 2015 6:20 am

Hello ladies and sirs,

This is my first post here and ye... i don't like noise all that much.

0. Case. Initially i started with Zalman t4 micro ITX which is like amazingly cheap (14 GBP) but figured that i might go with slightly more expensive Thermaltake mini ITX just because it has this amazing 200mm fan and i would like my desktop to be as small as possible. I don't own the system and it's my first build so i can't really figure out how loud is it going to be.
1. i5-4460, 84w means its loud, right? Any point of looking into AMD direction or custom cooler is a must in this case? (don't have one atm)
2. Zotac 970m cheap and thus probably loud. Should i look on other 970m modifications? Are GPU coolers actually easy to install and should be considered?
3. 400 w "be quite" PSU — should be relatively quite, right?
4. Everything else doesn't seem to have a fan in it but i have an option to install extra fans on the Case. Should i consider installing it?

The build itself:
PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-4460 3.2GHz Quad-Core Processor (£141.19 @ More Computers)
Motherboard: MSI H81I Mini ITX LGA1150 Motherboard (£50.99 @ Amazon UK)
Memory: Kingston HyperX Fury Black 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory (£34.53 @ Ebuyer)
Storage: Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive (£39.62 @ Amazon UK)
Video Card: Zotac GeForce GTX 970 4GB Video Card (£238.99 @ Aria PC)
Case: Thermaltake Core V1 Mini ITX Tower Case (£32.42 @ CCL Computers)
Power Supply: be quiet! 400W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply (£39.98 @ Novatech)
Total: £577.72
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available