SPCR
http://silentpcreview.com/forums/

Antec Neo HE PSU Users Poll
http://silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=27863
Page 8 of 12

Author:  MikeC [ Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:58 am ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
SN 05110048038

Nov 2005 was not a good mfg date for Antec NeoHEs...

Quote:
Anyhow, I scavenged a 1.4W 12V fan from an old CPU and hooked it up. Now my unit will post on the low fan setting but duh? I added another noise source.

The fact that just a 1.4W fan is enough to make the system boot means you are very close to the minimum load required for consistent starts. If the added fan solution is acceptable to you, why not just add a 2W 80~100 ohm resistor across any 12V output leads on the PSU? This would add 1.4~1.8W to the total load w/o adding any noise. The resistor leads only need to be jammed into a yellow pin and a black pin on a spare 4-pin IDE power cable. Just tape up at exposed leads, and you're good to go -- assuming there are no other problems.

Author:  jacorob [ Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Failed NeoHE 430

jacorob wrote:
Running with old Asus A7v600-x.

PS Serial: S05120168311 with A3 on serial sticker. Push power button, turns on for half a second, then shuts down.

PS came with P150 case purchased from NewEgg last week. Working on returning PS to Antec now...

Bob

Update. Received RMA replacement. Replacement was A4 revision, serial starting 0605. It booted the system for about 30 seconds, then shut down.

RMA'd replacement (asked for TruePower instead to get out of this Neo mess). New NeoHE replacement came (guess the didn't want to give me a TP), revision A4 0605... Boots system, but after 20 minutes or so the system shuts down. Working on RMAing this one now as well.

Fun fun. My advice, stay away from NeoHE if you have an Asus motherboard. Why take the chance? The risk vs reward just isn't there considering the other PS's out there.

Bob

Author:  picture_perfect [ Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Failed NeoHE 430

jacorob wrote:
jacorob wrote:

Fun fun. My advice, stay away from NeoHE if you have an Asus motherboard.
Bob


its not just asus though as in my case (BFG). has anybody isolated the problem?

ill give it one more shot in my core2 duo system comming next week. keep ya posted.

Author:  genericname [ Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:46 am ]
Post subject: 

I recently purchased a P150 (late October 2006, inwarehouse.se). The PSU has serial number S05120130639, revision A21. Warranty sticker broken.

I'm assembling a new PC for myself, the mainboard is a Gigabyte GA-P965-DS3. Other parts intalled:
Intel E6600
Zalman 7000AlCu
2*1 GB TwinMos PC2-5300, rated at the default 1.8V (some high-speed memory requires more, Gigabyte boards don't like this).
Sapphire Radeon 1950 Pro (I have a Zalman VF900 I'll mount later)
1 HDD, 1 DVD

The system has great startup difficulties, switching itself on and off. The components connected directly to the PSU can sometimes reach a semi-stable state, but the mainboard barely gets any power; fans connected to it hardly move, and the screen remains black. I don't have many spare components to test with, but if I buy some adapter cables (e.g., 20-pin to 24-pin), I could swap PSUs between my old and new PCs.

I've emailed Antec and I'll vote when I have more information. Could it help to plug the modular cables in different outputs?

Author:  genericname [ Sat Nov 04, 2006 10:51 pm ]
Post subject: 

genericname wrote:
Could it help to plug the modular cables in different outputs?

Well, it did help. :) Idea from this webshop's P150 page (in Swedish): http://www.komplett.se/k/ki.asp?sku=314780

It seems each 12V rail wants some minimum load in order for the rest of the PSU to function properly. I started with this setup for the modular cables (starting from left/nearest to me/farthest from fixed ATX output):
1. Empty
2. Empty
3. SATA (DVD)
4. Molex (HDD, case fan)
5 PCI-E (Radeon 1950 Pro)

Moving the SATA cable from 3 to 1 provided the mainboard with enough power to boot up, although it's still somehwhat sluggish. :? I moved the cable from 4 to 3 just to make it more symmetric.

Author:  westwood [ Mon Nov 06, 2006 1:47 am ]
Post subject: 

Neo HE430, came with my Antec P150 (S/N S05100032856) 6 months old, been solid as a rock (Gigabyte GA-K8N Ultra-SLI motherboard)

Author:  drosoph [ Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:45 am ]
Post subject: 

I've installed 4 Neo HE 500/550 units in ASUS A8N-SLI boards now ... with varying results.

But, I found a solution that works for me -- When monitoring the power, I see spikes/dips that cause the system BIOS HW Monitor to believe the power is out of spec, fans are out of spec, or temp is too hot. If you turn OFF the BIOS Hardware Monitor, the system will not reboot ...

I know this is a kludge, and if something WERE to happen, i wouldnt have the BIOS protections, but when you're rebooting all the time, you have to do something ...

I've RMA's two of the units previously ... and am not going to RMA any more ... if the next unit doesnt work, I'm just going to switch brands.

Author:  Mike_P [ Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:58 am ]
Post subject: 

not sure of my serial # as im not at home. but my NeoHE 430 powers a Asus P4S800 flawlessly since Jan 2006.

i too, seperated the modular cables to try and space out the load. I seen a review (SPCR maybe?) that shows where the rails were split among the modular plugs.

Author:  drosoph [ Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

drosoph wrote:
I've installed 4 Neo HE 500/550 units in ASUS A8N-SLI boards now ... with varying results.
Ok, went home to check ...both current boards are 1.02 A8N-SLI Deluxe. Neo HE 500 v3.1 is on a board with 1 cheap grafx card, 4 Gigs ram, Athlon XP x2 4800+, 5 SATA 320GB HDDs, 2 DVD burners, and one PCI Slot with a USB 2.0 card in it.

VCore is jumping all over the place, both BIOS monitoring and ASUS Update are reporting spikes all over the place ...

I saw somewhere that someone mentioned putting power to the SLI Molex slot ... does that at all help?

Author:  Arevall [ Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:33 am ]
Post subject: 

I just purchased a Antec P150 with a NeoHE 430 along with a asus mobo. Guess what? Yes, it wont work.

The no. for the PSU is S0511*****
Mobo is a Asus P5B, P965

The system starts and CPU-fan and tri-fan works, after a few seconds the system will shutdown again just to start over. Then it will stay on but I can't get a output from my graphics card.

I'm not sure it's the PSU messin' around or the graphics card :(

Author:  dhc40 [ Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Nice case, shame about the PSU.

Bascially another thumbs down for the Neo HE 430.

Received my P150 with Neo HE 430 PSU from Dabs last week. Serial number is WS0605271949
Other components are:

Foxconn P9657AA-8EKRS2H
Intel E6600 Core 2 Duo
2GB Crucial 667 MHz DDRII
MSI NX7600GS (passive cooling)
2 x 250Gb Samsung SP2504C drives
LG GSA-H10N

Aim: fast and quiet PC.

System would spin up fan for about 1 second and flash HD light briefly otherwise DOA. Currently sending back for a refund.
Purchased Sonata II with Smart power 2.0 450W PSU worked first time no problems for 4 days now.

Still want to use the P150 as it is much better built than the Sonata and better value (apart from the PSU of course). Would consider the Solo with beQuiet PSU BUT have bought the ivory LG drive :(

Author:  picture_perfect [ Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Failed NeoHE 430

picture_perfect wrote:
ill give it one more shot in my core2 duo system comming next week. keep ya posted.



the neo powers up the new intel system (occasionally stops and restarts though. once or twice it was not able to restart). this is an ABIT ab9pro board.

Author:  Yorkrose [ Wed Nov 15, 2006 9:25 am ]
Post subject: 

About 5 weeks ago I posted my results from trying to use a NeoHE 430 on a new system. The system particulars are:

Antec P180 case
Antec NeoHE 430 PSU
Intel DG965WH Mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo 6600
4 x 1 GB Kingston 667 DDR2
3 x Seagate 7200.10 320 SATA in RAID 5
2 x Lite-On DVDRW
(No add-on video card at this time)

The PSU that would not work at all was S/N S06050273727, and it was stamped A4 with a small blue dot.

Yesterday I received an RMA replacement, S/N S06080319082, also stamped A4 with a small blue dot.

The replacement seems to work, but just barely. It takes several tries to get the system to start, but then it seems to work fine after starting. No dropouts, restarts, or other problems. I am planning to add a new DX10 capable video card soon, so I will keep the NeoHE 430.

Author:  Bigchris [ Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:04 am ]
Post subject: 

I just this week received a new P150 from Newegg (TN warehouse) that contained a NeoHE 430 PSU with a serial beginning S0604 and bearing an A4 revision stamp and a blue dot. Mated with a new Asus P4P800-E mb it has performed perfectly for four days with completely normal on/off cycles.

My thanks to Mike for his recommendations for the case! It is a beauty and I'm well satisfied, but more than a little intimidated by the thought of trying to squeeze a Sythe Ninja in there. I think I'll let it burn in while building Mythtv for the next couple of weeks before taking the Ninja on.

P.S. Newegg currently has the Ninja (with fan) priced at $39.99!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835185038

Author:  jaganath [ Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:07 am ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
P.S. Newegg currently has the Ninja (with fan) priced at $39.99!


sigh...the Ninja is about that price in pounds here in the UK :cry:

Author:  Bigchris [ Sat Nov 18, 2006 7:18 am ]
Post subject: 

jaganath wrote:
Quote:
P.S. Newegg currently has the Ninja (with fan) priced at $39.99!


sigh...the Ninja is about that price in pounds here in the UK :cry:


Sorry mate! Maybe your government needs a wakeup call too. ;)

Author:  kater [ Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:05 am ]
Post subject: 

ordered p150 month ago, had it for 3 weeks, played with it, the psu and my old (not so) s12 430. finally decided to stay with s12 as it works much quieter

serial number is S0605....,

revision A4

qc stamp reads 2006-6-16

neohe works fine, the only time it didn't want to start was when i tried it with no load. it started when connected a dvd. stays on w/o problems, doesn't reboot, doesn't hang up, stays on forever, is very stable

my system
a64 3200 @ 2200
asus a8n-e (april bios, fresh)
gainward 7600gt @ 630/830
1 gb ram
1 hdd
1 odd
3 fans

Author:  fuser197 [ Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:39 am ]
Post subject:  Still going...

NeoHE 550, S/N: 0607***, rev. A4.

Been running great the past week with an old motherboard, Asus A7N8X Deluxe. Runs really cool and quiet compared to the True430 I had before.

Have the cables set up like this:
1. Seagate 400GB 7200.10
2. Empty
3. DVD-RW drive + DVD-ROM drive
4. Empty
5. ATI 9800 Pro

This is the first piece of a complete system upgrade, hopefully it'll work with the new parts (Asus P5W, E6600, P180, X1950Pro...).

Will update if it blows up (hopefully not). :D

*UPDATE* Upgraded system to a Asus P5B Deluxe, E6600, EVGA 8800 GTS, 2GB Corsair XMS, Seagate 750GB, been running fine the past month. Full system specs here: http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.aspx?rigid=1516

Author:  qviri [ Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:05 pm ]
Post subject: 

If I may ask, what CPU are you using?

You motherboard doesn't have the square 2x12V connector, correct?

Author:  fuser197 [ Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:39 am ]
Post subject: 

qviri wrote:
If I may ask, what CPU are you using?

You motherboard doesn't have the square 2x12V connector, correct?


Not sure if you were asking me, but no, the Asus A7N8X Deluxe doesn't have one of those.

Author:  ajbch [ Sun Nov 26, 2006 6:03 am ]
Post subject: 

Got mine about a month ago. Version A4. No problems what so ever with the power supply. I have a ECS motherboard for a socket 478 P4 2.6, 6600GT and 1.5Gig RAM.

Author:  sjoukew [ Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:18 am ]
Post subject: 

Antec NeoHE 430 PSU Serial: s06080329926
MotherBoard : asus a7v8x-x (bios ver. 1013)
cpu: amd athlon xp 2800+
3 dvd-rom, cd-rw, dvd-rw
3 ide hdd's
geforce 6200 (agp)

The PSU wouldn't start the first time, after that it runs perfectly.

Author:  amplify [ Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:16 am ]
Post subject: 

Antec NeoHE 430, Serial #: 0604xxx w/ A4 & blue dot

Asus P4P800-E Deluxe mobo, 1GB Kingston, 2 IDE HDD, DVD burner, CD-R/W, etc.

Had the exact same setup running in a different case w/ FSP ps, bought the P150 case for quieter/better cooling. NeoHE immediately turns off 3-5 secs after it's turned on. Power goes to all components (monitor signal light turns on, HDDs start up, fans, and the like) but shuts off right away.

RMA in progress.

Author:  karhill [ Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:42 am ]
Post subject: 

Another datapoint:

I have an Antec Neo He 480 that did not work properly with two different Asus A8N-SLI Premium motherboards. It would fail to turn on and power up. If enough load was placed on the various rails, then it would power up with these motherboards and would run flawlessly for weeks. The motherboards worked fine with other power supplies, so it was not the motherboards. The mal-functioning Antec Neo 480 was serial number S0509xxxxx.

I replaced the Neo 480 with a new Antec Neo HE 500, serial number S0609xxxxx, revision A4 with the blue dot. It is working just fine with same Asus A8n-SLI Permium motherboards.

Author:  andyL [ Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:04 pm ]
Post subject: 

I just installed one, works fine, quiet.

Antec NEO HE 430, it is a 2006 model, s/n is hidden in my system.

Asus K8V SE Deluxe (Socket 754 VIA k8T800) with A64 3000+
XFX 6800GS (AGP)
2 X DDR 400 DIMM
Samsung SP2504C (SATA)
Asus DVD E616A (PATA)
Sony DVDRW DRU810A (PATA)

Power Draw thru Kill A Watt: minimum 89 W, Load 178 W.

Andy

Author:  geobrick [ Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:07 pm ]
Post subject:  NEO HE 500 Works Fine

I'm using the Neo HE 500 with an ASUS A8N-SLI-Premium and it's been fine for 2 weeks now.

I risked buying it because:

1) I have a NEO HE430 working fine with an Intel P965LT since Sep 06 (see earlier posts)

and

2) it was only $40 after a $45 rebate at Fry's.

Author:  jfo [ Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:41 am ]
Post subject:  Failed Neo HE430

Model: Neo HE430 from P150 case
S/N: S0608..
Revision: A4 with blue sticker

MB: Asus M2NPV-VM rev. 1.01G
CPU: AMD 4200+ EE
Memory: 2xCorsair XMS2 512MB

Except for one single time where I got to BIOS, all i can get from the system is green standby LED on MB.

Objective with system was low power and low noise office/media machine with only on-board components.

Author:  skatamike [ Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:47 am ]
Post subject:  Did not work at all with Foxconn P9657AA-8EKRS2H

My setup:

Antec P150 with NEO HE 430 (A4, warrantyseal not broken)
Foxconn P9657AA-8EKRS2H
Intel E6400 Core 2 Duo
Corsair 2x1GB DDR2 533

System would start up briefly, the casefan and CPUfan would spin up for a fraction of a second. The powerLED would remain on, indicating that power was reaching the mobo. The HDD LED would flicker briefly. The vendor eventually agreed to let me return just the PSU for a refund, and I bought a BeQuiet Straight power 450W instead. Now everything working perfectly.

Author:  Shack Dougall [ Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:49 am ]
Post subject:  Antec Neo HE550

Antec Neo HE550 purchased from BestBuy on Oct 1, 2006

mobo: ECS 915P-A(1.1) 2GB DDR2 RAM Pentium 4 3.60GHz latest bios
video: ATI X1900XT PCI-E 256MB
psu: s/n 06030223953
drives: 80GB Hard drive, 2 DVD-RW
fans: 3 cooling fans

Have had sporadic problems powering up. Fans will start running and lights will come on, but then it immediately shuts down. I have to turn off the PSU, wait a few seconds, and try again. This problem is inconsistent. Sometimes it doesn't happen for a while and then it will be persistently bad.

Initially, the PSU performed well under load, even under heavy stress. However, after a month and a half, I also started having problems under heavy load. There is a complex 3d model that I can load that will shut it down every time now. When this happens, the PSU just shuts off without warning. I've checked CPU and GPU temperatures and they are relatively cold when this happens, so no overheating. This problem has gotten progressively worse. Sometimes it now shuts off under light load as well.

I've tried various cable arrangements to try to distribute the load and ensure that all the rails are utilized. This may have helped the startup problems, but has had no effect on the shutdowns under load.

At this point, I'm going to try to get a replacement or refund from Antec.

edit: fixed the s/n. I put in the wrong number the first time.

Author:  picture_perfect [ Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:08 pm ]
Post subject: 

:!:

system clock resets after a long power off. other bios settings unaffected. just mentioning it.


update 12/29/06 : the neo doesn't boot much anymore.

update 1/25/07 : replaced neo with seasonic s430. powers up and system clock now ok!

Page 8 of 12 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/