Quiet Centrino Laptop Advice

More popular than ever, but some are still very noisy.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

mfc2

Quiet Centrino Laptop Advice

Post by mfc2 » Tue Dec 28, 2004 10:18 am

I am looking to get a new laptop, hopefully to use as my primary computer. I am a Web programmer, so I will be running programs like Photoshop and MS SQL Server (developer edition). I don't plan on playing many games. I will also likely use an external monitor for additional work space.

The top contender on my list is an IBM ThinkPad T42, however I realize that other Centrinos are probably good as well.

So my questions are:
1. Is a Centrino laptop good enough to use as a primary computer?

2. Are Centrinos silent when not in use?

3. Compared to a desktop running an Athlon 3400, will I be disappointed with the speed of a 1.7GHz Centrino?

Thank you.
Mike Chabot

MikeC
Site Admin

Post by MikeC » Tue Dec 28, 2004 10:39 am

What you're planning is already being done in record numbers. Laptops are being sold in record numbers, AFAIK, it seems to be the one sector that's really in growth mode. I don't see any reasons against it, including performance in general -- except that you can't really mod a notebook to make it quieter if it is not quiet enough for you while as w/desktops, well you have all the resources of SPCR to help you silence it.

cansan

Post by cansan » Tue Dec 28, 2004 2:33 pm