Gateway M675X Pent 4 w/ 3.2 G Hz - Noise issues

More popular than ever, but some are still very noisy.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Brightbelt

Gateway M675X Pent 4 w/ 3.2 G Hz - Noise issues

Post by Brightbelt » Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:52 pm

Hi -
I just joined this forum, and while I'm glad I found it, I'm not sure my problem can be helped. I'm a professional musician/music publisher and have just put pro audio recording software on my Gateway Laptop.

I'm going into it directly with firewire and the recordings are great in quality but this laptop makes a whooshing/whining noise and cycles on every 30 seconds or so. It's like 15 seconds on/30 seconds off.

I know that it is the processing fan (I actually put a new hard drive on it in case that was the problem but nothing changed).

Also, a Gateway Tech support rep guided me into the BIOS and we disabled the Hyperthreading in case that might be affecting it, but that made no difference. (I reactivated it)

Today even, a fellow who used to work in this field of helping people customize more quiet computers looked at it and said there's nothing I can do.

Some older Gateways had silencer options in the BIOS but this one does not. Also, I've tried different settings in the Power Management settings in my Win XP Pro control panel, and nothing helps.

So, ...does anyone have any ideas (just in case) ?

Thanks,...Frank

tjpark1111

Post by tjpark1111 » Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:07 pm