It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
I'm planning to install Windows 7 (32-bit).
I prefer the Intel CPU also because it has a lower TDP, so it's likely to have less issues running fanless.
Some user reports about gaming performance would help me making a final decision.

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
FYI, there are more powerful Atoms you can run fanless like a D2700.
For 3D I guess an Atom/ION (which some people have run fanless) would be better but I'm not sure they run any cooler than Zacates. At least the heat would be spread out among more chips.

Gaming performance will vary drastically with specific games and settings. When you've got an underpowered board with a weird GPU, specifics matter.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
I'm not planning to run recent 3D games, just old stuff.

Could you try for me:
RetroArch + bsnes performance profile + this shader
?

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
I hope someone here is running Windows on their N2800 (I'm not).
Perhaps if you were to explain what to test (what's "bsnes performance profile" and so on), someone would run the test for you...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
Another idea that is bumping into my mind now:
since this board has a PCIe x1 slot, it should be possible to add a discrete video card, right?
Though it will consume more than the rest of the hardware , it may be a good solution for gaming.
When not required, the discrete video card could be disabled.

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:35 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Croatia
Does anyone have graphics driver for win 7 x64?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
eadmaster wrote:
since this board has a PCIe x1 slot, it should be possible to add a discrete video card, right?

Yes, it's possible.
However keep in mind the port is designed to supply 10W to the card. I don't know if you have any wiggle-room. That limits what card you can use. The weak CPU would limit you anyway.

If you want an Atom with dedicated graphics, look at ION boards.

nicko wrote:
Does anyone have graphics driver for win 7 x64?

There's no official drivers and I very much doubt anyone has some kind of unofficial driver.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 8:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
HFat wrote:
If you want an Atom with dedicated graphics, look at ION boards.

They're available only with old D525 Atoms,
a dedicated video card seems the only way to go.
Which one would you suggest?

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
Not knowing how much wiggle room you have means I can't give good advice. I'm also not knowledgable about graphics cards.
But the obvious choice would seem to be the HD5450. I'm nor sure but I think there are fanless versions with the right connector. It's not really a gaming card and it's a bit dated but it'd be much better than the N2800's IGP in terms of software compatibility if nothing else. And compatibility matters a great deal if you want to be able to use a broad range of games and operating systems. I suspect the 3D performance would also be significantly better but because of driver issues I don't know what the N2800's 3D potential is really.
And I don't know for a fact that all versions of the HD5450 would be compatible with the DN2800MT. And I'm ont sure even Intel can tell you. But you could ask them...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2012 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
I understand, most video cards require some space in the case.
Anyway i hope there will be no need for that.
To test gaming performance on Linux i might suggest to try:
- DOSBox emulator (this special built also has shaders support)
- OpenArena (to view the FPS counter, add "+set cg_drawFPS "1"" to the commandline)

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 2:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
Is there no Windows user here?

The problem with Linux is that performance is likely going to depend on the driver you use. The only official driver comes with MeeGo.
I'm using my DN2800MT as an out-of-the way headless server so I'd have to spend some time to install a GUI, disconnect the server to move it to a desk, connect it to a display and so on to test a game. If I'm going to do that, I don't want to do it for nothing. I'd need to know exactly what driver you want to test and exactly how to get a reproducible result... assuming you actually intend to run Linux (if you don't, only Windows users can help you, at least until Intel ships a Windows 8 driver and Microsoft ships a Windows 8 beta you can run off USB).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2012 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
I understand your point, the Windows drivers are completely different from the Linux ones, and so performance will vary.
Anyway, i have a very-stripped version of Win7 that can boot from an usb pendrive (it really boots from RAM after copying itself from USB).

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2012 5:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
I don't suppose you've to a license to distribute your version. Copyright laws are in our way once again.
Is it a quick process to make a USB-bootable version from any FPP Win 7 media? If so, I could test a game with the official Win 7 drivers...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
HFat wrote:
I don't suppose you've to a license to distribute your version. Copyright laws are in our way once again.
Is it a quick process to make a USB-bootable version from any FPP Win 7 media? If so, I could test a game with the official Win 7 drivers...

I've sent you a PM.

I've found this old 3dMark benchmark, but i'd really like to know this board performance with real games/emulators, like the ones i've mentioned in my previous posts.

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2012 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
It seems Windows drivers have improved considerably since then so I don't think this old benchmark is relevant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 6:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 6:49 am
Posts: 2
I've tried installing a Geforce GT520 card on this DN2800MT board. Unfortunately it won't work.
VESA works, but the driver does not load, so no hardware acceleration.
I know the board only delivers 10watt on the PCIe port, but adding external power to the GT520 card does not help.
Am I running into power problems, of is there some sort of incompatibility between this board en some video cards?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 5:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 5
Got this board installed with Mageia 2 RC and not much luck at all.

The lowest wattage so far as been 14W, but its averaging 15W. It DOES have a WiFi card in the full length mini PCIe slot which seems to get pretty hot itself, could draw up to 5W.

I also left "OS ACPI C3 Report" and "PCIe ASPM Support" disabled in the BIOS as I read there are major issues with the 82574L LAN chip and ASPM - it basically crashes under high load. Although so far, I can't get traffic to pass over the ethernet port at all. The graphics are also showing up corrupt, although I could live with that as this is going to be a router.

As for suggestion of running a discreet GPU on this board, not a chance. As understand it most cards expect to be able to draw 60W from the PCIe connector (with the slot usually capable of up to 75W) so this board being limited to 10W means its a none starter. Even the HD5450 is rated to draw up to double that number of watts at load, so while it "might" work in idle it would either crash or fry the board under load.

If you look at page 70 of the product guide its expected that the entire load of everything put together be only 87.9W. It also explicitly says on page 71 that you must NOT exceed 10W on the PCIe connector.

I'm surprised you were even able to get a graphics card to fit as doesn't the fact its a standard PCIe x1 slot prevent a x16 card going in due to the plastic? My previous Atom board the Asus AT5NM10T-I specifically had an open-ended PCIe slot to allow a graphics card to fit, presumably that is also capable of outputting the full wattage needed due to having the normal ATX PSU connectors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
The lowest wattage so far as been 14W, but its averaging 15W. It DOES have a WiFi card in the full length mini PCIe slot which seems to get pretty hot itself, could draw up to 5W.

Your brick could also be inefficient or your meter inaccurate.

Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I also left "OS ACPI C3 Report" and "PCIe ASPM Support" disabled in the BIOS as I read there are major issues with the 82574L LAN chip and ASPM - it basically crashes under high load.

I didn't notice any issues but then again I only briefly tested high load and I didn't test all types of high load.

Alex Atkin UK wrote:
so this board being limited to 10W means its a none starter. Even the HD5450 is rated to draw up to double that number of watts at load, so while it "might" work in idle it would either crash or fry the board under load.

This isn't what SPCR's tests found.
And being rated for 10W is not the same thing as a slightly larger draw causing crashes or frying (!) the board.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2012 11:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
I did a little search for compatible videocards, and so far i've found:
- NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE arccording to this bench max power usage is 10W -> not available as PCIex1?
- a few Matrox models (like the P690 Series) -> pricey and not suitable for gaming

I've also found a benchmark of GMA3650 (useful for comparison).

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 3:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 5
HFat wrote:
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
The lowest wattage so far as been 14W, but its averaging 15W. It DOES have a WiFi card in the full length mini PCIe slot which seems to get pretty hot itself, could draw up to 5W.

Your brick could also be inefficient or your meter inaccurate.

Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I also left "OS ACPI C3 Report" and "PCIe ASPM Support" disabled in the BIOS as I read there are major issues with the 82574L LAN chip and ASPM - it basically crashes under high load.

I didn't notice any issues but then again I only briefly tested high load and I didn't test all types of high load.

Alex Atkin UK wrote:
so this board being limited to 10W means its a none starter. Even the HD5450 is rated to draw up to double that number of watts at load, so while it "might" work in idle it would either crash or fry the board under load.

This isn't what SPCR's tests found.
And being rated for 10W is not the same thing as a slightly larger draw causing crashes or frying (!) the board.


I did say it uses DOUBLE, that is far from "slightly more". Also as Intel are making a big deal in the manual about not going over that 10W, is it really worth the risk?

If lower power usage is the priority but you need basic gaming, then an i3 would make a lot more sense as it will likely idle at similar levels as this board will with a graphics card in it, but have a lot more grunt for light gaming than any card this board can support.

I'm so not having much luck with the built-in GPU. I wanted to try reinstalling Mageia as Ethernet doesn't want to work for some reason (Mageia was installed on this HDD using my old Atom) but its impossible to see what I'm doing with a picture like this:
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 4:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I did say it uses DOUBLE

Who cares? SPCR estimated the card they got uses less than 10W. Some cards with the same chipset may use more and some people may be making baseless claims.

Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I wanted to try reinstalling Mageia as Ethernet doesn't want to work for some reason (Mageia was installed on this HDD using my old Atom) but its impossible to see what I'm doing with a picture like this:

I understand Mageia is bleeding edge. It's going to have issues (as documented on this forum). Simply use Debian, CentOS or some such.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 8:48 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 11:35 am
Posts: 534
Location: Chicago, Ill., USA
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I'm so not having much luck with the built-in GPU. I wanted to try reinstalling Mageia as Ethernet doesn't want to work for some reason (Mageia was installed on this HDD using my old Atom) but its impossible to see what I'm doing with a picture like this:


In the picture it looks like you're using a TV, as opposed to a computer monitor. You might try using a monitor instead of a TV. I say this as I've heard Intel graphics chipsets aren't as robust as nvidia when it comes to EDID and some TVs. I've never experienced this myself, but I've heard people complain about it on the MythTV users mailing list. It's an easy test if you happen to have a monitor handy.

_________________
my computers (updated December, 2007)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 1:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 5
Nope its an LG 3D monitor and I tried HDMI and D-SUB, both the same.

Ethernet is working now, seems I'm having issues getting br0 to work properly. However I am getting weird ping spikes now:

Code:
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=1 ttl=64 time=0.469 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=2 ttl=64 time=0.236 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=3 ttl=64 time=0.226 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=4 ttl=64 time=0.253 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=5 ttl=64 time=0.263 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=6 ttl=64 time=0.265 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=7 ttl=64 time=0.231 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=8 ttl=64 time=12.6 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=9 ttl=64 time=0.229 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=10 ttl=64 time=0.233 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=11 ttl=64 time=0.235 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=12 ttl=64 time=0.264 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=13 ttl=64 time=0.233 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=14 ttl=64 time=26.4 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=15 ttl=64 time=0.263 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=16 ttl=64 time=3.76 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=17 ttl=64 time=34.7 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=18 ttl=64 time=0.240 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=19 ttl=64 time=0.270 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.152: icmp_req=20 ttl=64 time=0.197 ms

A ping of 34.7ms certainly is not a good sign on Gigabit ethernet.

How frustrating as I switched to this board BECAUSE Intel ethernet controllers are highly regarded as reliable on Linux, yet I manage to find one with a dodgy chipset.

I think you may be right, Mageia is just not there yet despite it being the RC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2012 7:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
I got no such ping spikes. Maybe it's your target or your network.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 5
Well I found my bridge problem at least, it was my fault of course - completely missed the "BRIDGE=br0" in the network config for the card, lol.

As for my ping issue, every other device on the network gets perfectly normal pings, its only that one card that shows problems.

Anyway, I now have a PCIe card with the same chipset. The plan being to use it for the WAN side as I'm temporarily using a USB ethernet adapter until I can get the IO shield and riser card.

So I guess I can test that, see if it shows the same behaviour, panic if it does. There HAS to be a way to get this chipset to play nice with Linux, its featured on many server boards. Its just so frustrating as one reason to use this board was because I was having reliability issues with the Realtek card on my Atom D525 board. What is it with Linux and ethernet problems lately? Last time I had issues like this was with a 3COM 10-BASE-T card, many moons ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2012 5:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1696
Location: Switzerland
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
Wits only that one card that shows problems.

The card alone is not at issue. It's a system issue. You're a bit rash to blame the card considering that others have stable pings and that you're having trouble with other hardware:
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I was having reliability issues with the Realtek card on my Atom D525 board. What is it with Linux and ethernet problems lately? Last time I had issues like this was with a 3COM 10-BASE-T card, many moons ago.

I've got no ping spikes or other issues on the Realtek NICs I've used on small Linux servers. And I don't recall having issues with the old 3COM cards either, although I might not have used them with Linux.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 2:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 9:35 am
Posts: 35
Location: Italy
I've found a workaround for the 10W PCIe limit:
use an eGPU (external video card)
A bit cumbersome, but doable.

EDIT: a better solution could be using a video card powered entirely via a MOLEX cable, instead of the PCIe connector.
This also should be doable because you can power the board using an external PSU, thus avoiding the power limits.
(see this discussion)

EDIT2: the final solution (i really hope this works!)

_________________
My old stuff for sale
My desktop PC: A6-3500, AMD stock cooler, Asus F1A75-M LE, Corsair CMZ4GX3M1A1600C9, SEAGATE FreeAgent GoFlex Portable 500Gb, NZXT Nemesis case, picoPSU-120-WI-25


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 12:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 6:49 am
Posts: 2
I underclocked/undervolted my nvidia GT520 card (using a nvidia bios editor). Now it uses less than 10 watts under load. Still it doesn't work on the DN2800MT, the nvidia driver won't load. I think there might be some incompatiblity.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:15 am
Posts: 35
I received the following email from a reader of my DN2800MT review, I thought since it contains useful info I might post it here. Please be aware I have not tried what suggested in the email since my DN2800MT is currently in use as a headless server, so I don't know if it works as described!

Quote:
Great review. One thing you did not notice: The Mageia system uses a device available on all kinds
of Linux kernels and most Linux operating systems, it uses the vesa frame buffer that you get by
putting vga=792 onto the command line. In order to run this on, say, slackware, you start up with
vga=792 or whatever, then you start X-windows with the fbdev_drv.so xorg driver installed (has to
be gotten special on many Linuxes).

What you point out is that this really makes the Cedarview run hot. And, the vesa resolution, 4:3,
that results needs a 4:3 monitor or the use of the vesa switch on the side of most 16:9 monitors.

Let me tell you, the Cedarview is much more fun in 16:9 on Linux. If you ever want to find out
about the 16:9 option, here is what you do:

(a) You get the 915resolution program available from the repository of slitaz.org.

(b) You run the following script in administrator mode:

915resolution -c Cedarview 54 1366 768 32
modprobe uvesafb mode_option=1366x768-32 vram_total=8

You then start X-windows to run the frame buffer driver, fbdev_drv.so.

The above runs best in some variation of Slackware, and it needs uvesafb.ko to be compiled into the
kernel, whichever kernel is in use.

For one thing, the above runs cool, I don't know why. For another, even though you have to work at
getting fonts to register (but not streaming graphics), things like the peacekeeper benchmark run
twice as fast as on Windows 7 on google chrome. And, the instrumentation stays cool.

The above could be made part of Ubuntu or Mandriva or whatever, but they seem to prefer the vga=792
method.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel DN2800MT hands on...Single digit world?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 4:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 4:30 am
Posts: 5
HFat wrote:
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
Wits only that one card that shows problems.

The card alone is not at issue. It's a system issue. You're a bit rash to blame the card considering that others have stable pings and that you're having trouble with other hardware:
Alex Atkin UK wrote:
I was having reliability issues with the Realtek card on my Atom D525 board. What is it with Linux and ethernet problems lately? Last time I had issues like this was with a 3COM 10-BASE-T card, many moons ago.

I've got no ping spikes or other issues on the Realtek NICs I've used on small Linux servers. And I don't recall having issues with the old 3COM cards either, although I might not have used them with Linux.


Well, I have tried Mageia 2, Ubuntu 12.04, Mandriva 2011 and Fedora 17 and only Mandriva was immune to the problem and ONLY on its original 2.6.38 kernel, it developed the problem too when it updated to 2.6.39.
Strangely, I also added a second LAN adapter using the identical chipset into the PCIe x1 slot, that DOESN'T suffer the problem at all. I wonder what the difference is between the on-board implementation and the PCIe one?

Fortunately someone else with the same problem found a temporary fix, so I am using that for now to get round the problem.

I have settled on Fedora 17 64bit for now as it appears the most responsive on this board so far (once I turned off SELinux, was very laggy before that). Very pleased to see ttcp able to max out the Gigabit Ethernet using relatively little CPU load. Now to actually do something useful with it.

Incidentally, the Realtek NIC issue I was having on the previous Atom board is also well documented. It basically would only bring up the link once at boot and if it lost the link for whatever reason such as rebooting the router it was connected to, you had to power cycle the machine to get it back. I believe the problem may be finally fixed now in the 3.2.x/3.4.x kernels which are common to the latest distro releases.

Another interesting thing about my experiments with this board is I see very little difference in power consumption between idle and load, its literally a watt or two. Perhaps the PSU I am using sucks as I have never seen it drop below 14W, yet it also doesn't seem to have climbed since I added the second NIC, which would seem to concur that its PSU losses. Once I can finally get the M350 bracket for the board I will order a better PSU at the same time, hopefully get those watts down a little.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 124 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group