New fan for Cooler Master V550?

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

fferdee

New fan for Cooler Master V550?

Post by fferdee » Fri Jan 20, 2017 4:16 pm

I have a two year old Cooler Master V550 in a HTPC/gaming rig and its fan is now making a low rumble that is bothersome. The PSU has done fine for me and I'd like to just replace the fan instead of the whole thing. Is this reasonable? I've seen the Scythe Flow 2 120mm mentioned here a few times but I am unsure if this is what this PSU needs.

I haven't cracked open the PSU but it's supposed to have the Silencio FP 120 http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/cas ... -120-3pin/. I -could- get the same fan but... yaknow... always looking for better.

Thanks

quest_for_silence

Re: New fan for Cooler Master V550?

Post by quest_for_silence » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:41 am

How is that PSU mounted? With the fan facing downwards or upwards?

BTW, the warranty on these units should be longer than just two years: I mean, you might RMA/return it, mightn't you?

fferdee wrote:but it's supposed to have the Silencio FP 120 http://www.coolermaster.com/cooling/cas ... -120-3pin/
It is not that fan: the retail one is a 0.05A / 1200rpm fan, with a starting voltage of 3V. OTOH the PSU fan is a 0.16A / 2250rpm variant, with an unknown (to me) starting voltage.

fferdee

Post by fferdee » Sat Jan 21, 2017 5:01 am

Psu is facing down in a Fractal Design Node 304.

You are right about the warranty, five years, I just assumed 1-2 like everything else. I'd love if they can send me another PSU and then ship the old one, but in case they don't is there a good silent fan I can use? I'd rather spend the $20 than wait several weeks for a repair.

quest_for_silence

Post by quest_for_silence » Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:24 am