Silverstone vs Lian Li

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

Ward

Silverstone vs Lian Li

Post by Ward » Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:54 pm

I have a general request for feedback in the System Advice forum, but I have a pretty specific question about cases. My previous systems, which are about five years old and soon to be replaced, used the Antec P180 case. While I was happy with the cases from a noise and heat perspective, I was disappointed with them from a weight and aesthetics perspective. I find a lot of the aluminum cases from Silverstone and Lian Li to be very attractive, and considerably lighter, but I have no first hand experience with either manufacturer.

I am very interested in people's views/recommendations on black aluminum mid tower cases from both Silverstone and Lian Li. I prefer clean lines, and have looked at cases like the Fortress 2. I was actually pretty set on that one except for the 180mm fans in the bottom of it. I don't like the idea of having fans in the case that I can't replace easily if they are too loud for my liking (or fail for some reason).

Also worth noting, I plan to replace all of the stock fans in whatever case I buy with Nexus fans pretty much right off the bat, so what I am most interested in is a case that has good quiet potential with limited modding and also decent airflow, as I plan to set it up as a quiet gaming rig. For reference on how much heat I plan to be generating in the case, I intend to use an AND Phenom 965 BE (C3) chip and a mid level 5xxx series Radeon card. Any recommendations are greatly appreciated. :)

ces

Post by ces » Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:05 pm

What size motherboard?

Ward

Post by Ward » Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:22 pm

Standard ATX. Right now I am planning on using the GIGABYTE GA-790FXTA-UD5.

Ward

Post by Ward » Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:19 pm