Folding@Home Beginners Guide

A forum just for SPCR's folding team... by request.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7675
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:07 am

Hello,
kittle wrote:Anyone know how you switch teams?

im spending more time here than on the website of my current team...
You can edit the client.cfg file -- look for the current team number, and replace it with 31574, the SPCR Folds team number. :)
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

djkest
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post by djkest » Tue Sep 18, 2007 9:10 am

Wow, no excuse not to fold any time my computer is on. My dual-core desktop plays games and folds at the same time. Should I run 2 instances of folding @home at the same time w/ an Athlon 64 x2 ? Just open the program again?

Currently folding on a Athlon 64 3700+ (2.2ghz) most of the time, since it is my quieter gentler system.

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7675
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Tue Sep 18, 2007 4:28 pm

Hello,

If you are running 64bit Linux, then use the Linux SMP client, for sure. Second best if you are running Windows is to use the Windows SMP client. After that, there are ways to run two "regular" clients, but it takes a little doing -- and there are instructions on the best/esiest way to do this. Can someone jump in, please?
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

peteamer
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1740
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.

Post by peteamer » Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:03 pm

The best route will depend on how long/often the PC is on.....


Pete

Bob The Pc Builder
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:11 am
Location: UK

Post by Bob The Pc Builder » Sun Apr 13, 2008 5:16 pm

excellent flash vid at the top, told me exactly what i needed to know and i will fold from right now to forever.

it reminds me of seti project only has a likly and defined use.

COUNT ME IN!
planned rig: Q6600 @ 3.0, 4 gigs of geil black dragon PC2-6400, 8800GTX, MSI neo2 p35 mobo,Seagate Barracuda 200 gig drive sata2.

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7675
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:10 pm

Bob welcome to the Fold! We can use all contributions.
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

frenchie
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Location: CT

Post by frenchie » Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:25 am

how do I use 100% of my CPU ? I have an E7200 and only 50% is beeing used

dukla2000
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 12:27 pm
Location: Reading.England.EU

Post by dukla2000 » Sun Dec 14, 2008 2:52 am

Welcome to the cause!
frenchie wrote:...: how do I use 100% of my CPU ? I have an E7200 and only 50% is beeing used...
See Neil's post 4 above yours. Preferably you want to run an SMP (Symmetric Multi-Processing) client. Works great for me on Linux x86_64: on an Intel/Windoze m/c (Dell) I also fold on I did the DEINO installation but every w/u crashes so have just left it with a single client running 50%.
[size=75]2009/Oct: Jetway JNC81-LF * 4850e naked under fanless Xigmatek Apache * Antec mini Skeleton w/Nexus 120mm PWM fan * Delta 90W brick w/Skeleton DC-DC board * WD2500BEVT 250Gb blue[/size]

Imelon
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 1:21 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Post by Imelon » Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:29 am

Imelon is jacked in too 8) Go TEAM!!

archimtan
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:44 am
Location: Philippines

Post by archimtan » Tue Apr 14, 2009 9:42 pm

Joined. :D

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7675
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:09 am

Welcome!!
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

frenchie
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Location: CT

Re: Folding@Home Beginners Guide

Post by frenchie » Wed Nov 03, 2010 4:44 am

This really should be here : http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1551036
(sorry for also posting this in another thread, I'm not sure that's allowed...)
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7675
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Re: Folding@Home Beginners Guide

Post by NeilBlanchard » Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:51 pm

Any hints on getting the new GPU recognized by the F@H client? My son is using a statement -1 GPU which he says is supposed to automatically find the GPU, but it doesn't work.

Edit: I reinstalled the v7.4.4 client and it took me to the online control interface, which I had not seen before, and - ta da! It is working on the GTX 970 4GB Zotac card! It is up to an estimated 242,000PPD+; up from ~13,000PPD. :twisted:

Woo hoo!
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

Post Reply