Installing Folding@Home as a Service - Links

A forum just for SPCR's folding team... by request.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

haysdb
Patron of SPCR

Installing Folding@Home as a Service - Links

Post by haysdb » Wed Apr 07, 2004 11:18 pm

Installing Folding@Home as a service

This is not a "How To" but rather a list of links for various service installers, of which there are now quite a few. I have little or no experience with most of these installers, so feel free to post your experience within the thread, for the benefit of others.

Windows

Note that most of those installers run FAH as a service in exactly the same way, so the end result will be the same, it's just the installers that are different. Exceptions are the Firedaemon method, TRC-13's "stealth installer", and running FAH as a Scheduled Task.
  • pk's Folding@Home Service Installer (WinNt/2K/XP)

This installer has been around for quite awhile, so although I have not used it myself, I feel safe in "recommending" it.

TIP: Whether you use this installer or another, pk's service.cfg utility could come in handy. It allows you to change the options or "flags" that a service runs with, for example to add (or remove) -advmethods. I prefer this to editing the registry with regedit.

Thread about pk's installer
  • F@HSI - Folding@Home Service Installer (v1.0 BETA 1)

Thread at folding-community.org about this installer

I have not used this installer (yet), but I like what I see so far.
    • Four installation options:
      • Quick - Installs the service and prompts you to configure basic options.
      • Custom - Installs the service and prompts you to configure all options.
      • Automated - Installs the service and automatically configures it.
      • Existing - Configures and existing Folding@home installation to run as a service
    • The source code is GPL'd (General Public License, like Linux)
    • Good installation instructions