HDD Problem?

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
cloud218
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:55 pm

HDD Problem?

Post by cloud218 » Sat Sep 29, 2007 9:10 am

This computer is a new, first build for me. And I'm in the process of trying to install Windows XP and at the same time, trying to get the hard drive to be recognized by the Windows.

Through the BIOS, the BIOS has recognized the hard drive, but I've been failing to get the screen to go to the "Windows Setup" screen, therefore, preventing me from pressing the F6 key in the screen. I'm pretty much stuck here, and I've got no idea what's wrong with this computer. Here are the specs:

GIGABYTE GA-M61PM-S2 AM2 NVidia MoBo
LG 18x DVDR Super-Multi DVD Burner w/ DVD Ram Write
Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s HDD
Kingston 2GB (2x1GB) 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Mem
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+(65W) Windsor 2.2GHz Socket AM2
SONY 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive
Atech Flash Xm-4U 11-in-1 USB 2.0 Internal Card Reader
CoolerMaster 600W Power Supply Unit

That's the spec, and I'm pretty sure there'd be no hardware conflict.

Thomas
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:21 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Thomas » Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:10 am

Sounds like Windows XP? Can your system boot on the Windows setup CD? F6 is very, very early in the setup proces... How far do you get on the setup-CD?
AMD Phenom II 925/Asus Triton 75 | Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H/IGP | Kingston 6GB | Antec P180/S-Flex | Seasonic S12 380/S-Flex | Crucial C300 64 + Samsung F2 EcoGreen | Optiarc 7240s | Dell 2412M | Sidewinder mouse+keyboard | Win7 x64

cloud218
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:55 pm

Post by cloud218 » Sat Sep 29, 2007 11:48 am

Thomas wrote:Sounds like Windows XP? Can your system boot on the Windows setup CD? F6 is very, very early in the setup proces... How far do you get on the setup-CD?
Sorry, I can't even get into the Windows Setup CD. I know about the F6, and I'm just waiting for the windows setup screen to pop up, but even before that, after POST BIOS, it would say "Boot CD/DVD ROM" and would just freeze there. I tried the thing in BIOS settings where it would override any freeze/errors, but when I did that, all it'd do is restart by itself.

Thomas
Posts: 664
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:21 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Thomas » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:42 am

Sounds like the LG CD/DVD drive aint configured correctly... Can you boot on another CD than Windows setup? That LG CD/DVD, is it SATA or IDE? If all that stuff is okay, it might be worth upgrading the BIOS to the latest version...
AMD Phenom II 925/Asus Triton 75 | Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H/IGP | Kingston 6GB | Antec P180/S-Flex | Seasonic S12 380/S-Flex | Crucial C300 64 + Samsung F2 EcoGreen | Optiarc 7240s | Dell 2412M | Sidewinder mouse+keyboard | Win7 x64

andyb
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 3307
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Essex, England

Post by andyb » Wed Oct 03, 2007 2:00 pm

Unplug the multi-slot card reader, they can interfere, and will get detected as the C, D, E, F drive etc before your HDD, so your HDD will be a higher letter than C.

While your at it unplug the floppy drive power and data, or at least check that its wired correctly, if it isnt the light will stay on.

Also for a bit of (mostly unrelated) info are you using service pack 0, 1, or 2 - the CD will say on it if its an original if its 1 or 2, if it doesnt say its 0.


Andy
Main PC, P180, CM Silent Pro 500M, i5 3570k @ 4.2Ghz, 8-GB @ 2,400MHz, 512GB 850 EVO, 500 Extreme II, 2x 2.5" drives, MSI 660Ti Twin Frozr.
Server, under reconstruction, 380W Enermax Pro82+, positive pressure only.

Post Reply