New to building, please review Build.

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Sayguh

New to building, please review Build.

Post by Sayguh » Sun Nov 16, 2008 12:01 am

So this isn't exactly a silent build, although most of it is damn quiet. It's really just the video card that's going to make a ton of noise, but I wanted to see if you guys would look it over. I am new to building and origionally wanted a silent PC but after looking at high end video cards I felt it was a little difficult. Let me know what you think of this build though. i'd really appriciate it.

Mobo - ASRockx38 - $107
Video Card - Radeon 4870x2 OC'd - $520
HDD Seagate 7200.11 - $60
Monitor Samsung 2253BW $210
Case XCLIO A380BK $110
PSU Corsair CMPSU 750W $99
RAM 2 x 2G Patriot DDR3-1600 $155
CPU Intel E8500 $189

Total ~ $1500

What do you guys think? It's my first build so please be gentle, but also tell me if something is horribly wrong, uncompatible or just a stupid buy.

A few notes: The Mobo runs x38 which I know is old but I don't really want to spend the money for a x48 and i want full speeds if i go crossfire, i also wanted DDR3 RAM to future proof myself. I don't know if I want to spend the extra money and get the E8600 so any comments on that would be good. The HDD and video card I got from Toms Hardware charts, just kind of pulled out ones near the top. A few of the items I found have open box specials on new egg which I'm excited about :-D

sjoukew

Post by sjoukew » Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:08 am

An overclocked vga card only delivers about 5-10% more performance, for a lot of money. If the game you are running runs fast, 80fps becomes 80*1.05 = 84 fps. If the game is not running fast enough, lets say 25fps, 25*1.05 = 26,25 fps. In both cases it doesn't make sense to buy an overclocked vga card.