Sanity check for a workstation/home studio/light gaming PC

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Xinef

Sanity check for a workstation/home studio/light gaming PC

Post by Xinef » Wed Jun 14, 2017 1:59 pm

First of all, hi everyone. I'm new here.

I'm trying to build my first quiet PC, and after days of research into the topic, I've come up with a rough idea of what I'd want. However, before I spend a big chunk of my budget on hardware, I though it might be a good idea to have some experts look at my shopping list, and see if I've made any wrong assumptions or other mistakes. Or if anyone is interested in hearing my review once I buy and test it.

1. Requirements/Use Cases:

- Programming (CUDA, OpenCL), rendering, 3D modeling, video and audio editing. I'm a PhD student in Computer Science (virtual reality), and I'm writing my own game engines, graphics engines, physics engines... and occasionally doing other gamedev related things like 3D modeling in Blender.
- Home studio - I'm recording gaming sessions (online tabletop roleplaying games), and thinking of recording video tutorials and maybe let's play series. I don't want the noise from the PC to be recorder by my microphone, even when the system is under heavy load. Sure, I can edit the noise out, but it lowers audio quality.
- Light gaming. Games get better as they get older ;)
My favorite games include: Factorio, Kerbal Space Program, Minecraft (all heavily modded, I've run with 100+ mods sometimes), Heroes of Might and Magic 1-5, Civilization 1-5 + freeciv, the X-Com series, various city builders... yes, including Dwarf Fortress...
As far as MOBA/MMO games go, the only ones that caught my interest are Heroes of the Storm and Dungeons and Dragons Online.