Acronis True Image WD Edition: anyone tried?

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
RaptorZX3
Posts: 867
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)

Acronis True Image WD Edition: anyone tried?

Post by RaptorZX3 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 1:47 am

anyone tried the Acronis True Image WD Edition? it's made especially for WD drives (duh), but i wonder if anyone had good experiences with it?

...as if all go well, i'll migrate my stuff from this 500gb WD5000AADS to this WD10EALS which have a constant 7200rpm instead of the Green series screwing up the Load/Unload Cycles counts, it's already over 1000 for me right now, so i'll probably use this one afterward for backup.

I think this tool does the same thing as Migrate Easy, but with more options inside.

colm
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:22 am
Location: maine

Post by colm » Mon Jul 12, 2010 1:01 pm

tried it, did something stupid with system files.
It does what it says, windows don't like it.

I gave up vista just for a version that backs stuff up...and they do take ven more money to get the better version.

maybe linux understands, being more universal.

dhanson865
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Location: TN, USA

Acronis TrueImage

Post by dhanson865 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:53 pm

I've used the version that came with the Kingston 40GB SSD (same as the Intel 40GB) and I'm assuming the software is the same as the one WD gave you.

The user interface wasn't as straightforward as I'd like for controlling partition sizes but I haven't had any problem with copying entire partitions (even bootable Windows XP partitions).

RaptorZX3
Posts: 867
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 11:57 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)

Post by RaptorZX3 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:11 pm

Hmm my guess is i should use the real Acronis True Image Home 2010 then...

Now i'm just waiting for my WD10EALS to come in the mail, shouldn't take long, never had trouble with NCIX with hard disks.

danimal
Posts: 734
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:41 pm
Location: the ether

Post by danimal » Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:22 pm

xxcopy is free, and it does an xlnt job of cloning drives.

http://www.xxcopy.com/index.htm

Linnaeus Tripe
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:41 pm

Post by Linnaeus Tripe » Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:56 am

I recently used it to migrate a 320GB boot drive to a 1TB drive without difficulty and found it pretty easy to use, but I did not do anything other than move everything lock, stock, and barrel to the new drive.

Arbutus
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Post by Arbutus » Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:08 am

It works fine. Both Western Digital and Seagate have branded versions of Acronis TrueImage. Both Seagate's Disc Wizard and Western Digital's Acronis True Image WD Edition are free downloads. They both validate by checking if you have one of the company's models of disk drive in the system. The qualifying drive does not have to involved in the clone or other operations.

Post Reply