SPCR Lurker - Finally Posting

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

LoveMyCompy

SPCR Lurker - Finally Posting

Post by LoveMyCompy » Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:20 pm

Hey, everyone! I'm Olivia and I'm a newbie to the forums. I've been a SPCR lurker for quite some time (approximately 4 months now), and I've finally given into joining the conversation! Y'see, I've been wanting to a build an economical yet functional PC for quite some time. I would want it to be efficient without it being too loud and more importantly, too powerful.

The only issue is that I don't know where to start. I don't know what parts to choose from to make a computer that won't make a peep and that will be energy efficient. I've built computers in the past, but none of them were particularly energy efficient. Functional, yes. Energy efficient and silent? Hardly. They certainly weren't LOUD, but I knew that everything was working overtime.

Anyway, if I could perhaps get some help on the matter, I would be SO happy. And of course, if I could make a friend or two, I'd be especially happy. Either way, take care!

quest_for_silence

Re: SPCR Lurker - Finally Posting

Post by quest_for_silence » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:47 pm

LoveMyCompy wrote:The only issue is that I don't know where to start.

For general computing purposes, you may start on your own experience: how much performing is enough? Then you could go on.

JamieG

Post by JamieG » Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:50 pm

What kind of uses are you planning for this computer?