Does the VF900 work with a 6200A AGP? Zalman is unclear.

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Aquilegia
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 10:45 pm
Location: Whistler, BC
Contact:

Does the VF900 work with a 6200A AGP? Zalman is unclear.

Post by Aquilegia » Sun Aug 13, 2006 3:32 pm

Hi Folks,

I have a 6200A AGP (Chaintech SA62A) and would like to put the VF900 on it. Zalman's website says that the VF900 won't work with the 6600 series (AGP). It says nothing about the 6200. Has anybody tried the VF900 on the 6200A?

Thanks,
Brad

darthan
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:28 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by darthan » Sun Aug 13, 2006 4:56 pm

The VF900 is serious overkill for that card. See if you can find one of the Zalman (or any other) passive coolers for something like that. They'll get the job done in any case with any airflow at all and you can probably find something cheaper than the VF900.

Aquilegia
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 10:45 pm
Location: Whistler, BC
Contact:

How much overkill are we talking?

Post by Aquilegia » Sun Aug 13, 2006 5:15 pm

Thanks Darthan,

How much overkill are we talking? Could I get away with the Zalman northbridge flower heatsink (ZM-NBF47)? Or do I need at least the ZM-80?

Thanks for the wisdom,
Brad

darthan
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:28 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by darthan » Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:58 pm

Well, given that the VF900 will work on a 80-100W X1900XTX (I'm not sure exactly what the number is, but you get the idea) and the 6200 is going to use probably no more than 20W and certainly no more than 30W it's more than enough power. I'm not saying don't get it. Depending on availability it may be your best choice. I'm just saying that while it is a good quiet cooler, you could get something like this. Any decent passive cooler ought to work on that card if you have reasonable airflow in your system. And silent is always good, right?

To answer your original question, measure the distance between the mounting holes for the stock cooler on your card. If the distance is more than 7.5cm (a hair less than 3in.) then the VF900 won't work. If the holes are close enough together, I see no reason the VF900 wouldn't work.

Aquilegia
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 10:45 pm
Location: Whistler, BC
Contact:

Post by Aquilegia » Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:07 pm

Thanks again,
Brad

Krazy Kommando
Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:12 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by Krazy Kommando » Sun Aug 13, 2006 11:46 pm

you could get away with a VF700Cu without the fan turned on! a VF900 is seriously over the top...unless you want to buy it and use it for a future gfx card upgrade aswell?
[size=75]AMD64 3200 w/ Zalman 7700AlCu @ 5v (900rpm)
MSI K8N Neo4 w/ TR HR05-SLI
2048mb Generic DDR400
Sparkle 8800GT w/ AC Accelero S1
SATA Seagate 7200.7 160gb
SATA Samsung HD501LJ 500gb
Corsair VX450w
120mm Aerocool Turbine 2000 @ 9v (800rpm)
80mm Coolermaster @ 5v (1000rpm)
Coolermaster Aerogate3[/size]

Post Reply