Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
SnowJim
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:23 am

Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by SnowJim » Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:20 am

Hi,

Im building a computer for work and Im thinking of using the built in GPU in i7, will this handle 2 Displays in 1920x1200 without problems?

I could add a fanless PCI-Express GPU but this will make the temp to raise a bit i guess?

BestRegards

Vicotnik
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1822
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by Vicotnik » Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:59 am

Yes, it will work. This has very little to do with GPU power btw. More a question of features, as long as you don't plan to do any heavy 3D work or play games.
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock J4105-ITX | 4GB DDR4 | Intel 535 120GB | picoPSU | No moving parts
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 1060 6GB | 16GB DDR3 | TJ08-E | RM750X
Server: ASRock N3150-ITX | ~30TB | G-360 | Idle ~25W

kuzzia
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:41 am
Location: Denmark

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by kuzzia » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:32 am

If you're just using the computer for productivity, i.e. not anything GPU demanding, then the i7 will easily handle the two desktops.

SnowJim
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:23 am

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by SnowJim » Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:36 am

Thanks, this sounds great!

I thought is to extend my desktop on two displays that each run 1920x1200.

No gaming or heavy 3D will be done on this computer, just winform development. Ofcoudes some internet browsing also with flash and so on.

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by CA_Steve » Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:48 am

Yep - the iGPU will work fine.
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

whispercat
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by whispercat » Mon May 21, 2012 9:41 pm

What about two 1920 x 1200 displays running CS6 and/or playing Blu-ray videos?

Vicotnik
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1822
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by Vicotnik » Mon May 21, 2012 11:14 pm

Two displays at 1920x1200 is fine, bluray is fine and CS6 will work but I think it could perform better with a better GPU.
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock J4105-ITX | 4GB DDR4 | Intel 535 120GB | picoPSU | No moving parts
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 1060 6GB | 16GB DDR3 | TJ08-E | RM750X
Server: ASRock N3150-ITX | ~30TB | G-360 | Idle ~25W

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?

Post by CA_Steve » Tue May 22, 2012 5:09 am

Vicotnik wrote:...and CS6 will work but I think it could perform better with a better GPU.
While Adobe has added Open CL features to CS6, I haven't seen how much gpu is really needed to make full use of it. AMD claims ~5-7x speed improvement on Blur and Liquefy filters using a Llano laptop APU...so HD4000 might be in the same ballpark.
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

lhopitalified
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:03 pm

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by lhopitalified » Tue May 22, 2012 11:27 am

I think how much of a boost you'd get with photoshop CS 6 by going to a GPU would depend on what filters you commonly use.
CA_Steve wrote:
Vicotnik wrote:...and CS6 will work but I think it could perform better with a better GPU.
While Adobe has added Open CL features to CS6, I haven't seen how much gpu is really needed to make full use of it. AMD claims ~5-7x speed improvement on Blur and Liquefy filters using a Llano laptop APU...so HD4000 might be in the same ballpark.
Is it just Open CL, or does Adobe also support CUDA? IIRC, the latest batch of nvidia cards aren't so great WRT open CL performance.

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by CA_Steve » Tue May 22, 2012 2:17 pm

lhopitalified: CUDA is an NVidia only deal. I hate to suggest getting a discrete GPU without seeing any benchmarks.

Whispercat: Try it with the iGPU and compare to your current platform...it might be in the land of "good enough". If it isn't, you can always add a discrete card.
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

whispercat
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by whispercat » Tue May 22, 2012 6:55 pm

CA_Steve wrote: Whispercat: Try it with the iGPU and compare to your current platform...it might be in the land of "good enough". If it isn't, you can always add a discrete card.
Thanks, will do. That's good news about the Intel HD 4000 being able to drive high res displays and Blu-ray.

If it turns out not to be quite good enough for CS6, can you recommend a low power discrete card? (I've been out of the video card loop for a couple of years).

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by CA_Steve » Wed May 23, 2012 6:24 am

Hopefully, there will be some CS6 gpu benchmarks/reviews out in the next month or so and we can figure out the optimum card. You shouldn't need much :D
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

smilingcrow
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Location: At Home

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by smilingcrow » Wed May 23, 2012 9:58 am

For CS6 or CS5.5 you definitely want a nVidia GPU as the performance difference is dramatic.
CS5.5 is CUDA only and you want at least a GTS 450.
I understand that CS6 benefits from both CUDA and OpenCL so again nVidia is the only way to go.
For CS5.5 it was straightforward but the situation with CS6 is more complicated (nVidia 5 v 6 series) so checkout the Adobe forums:
http://forums.adobe.com/community/premi ... ware_forum

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by CA_Steve » Wed May 23, 2012 11:49 am

smilingcrow wrote:I understand that CS6 benefits from both CUDA and OpenCL so again nVidia is the only way to go.
Huh? Open CL is supported by Intel, AMD and Nvidia. As for Cuda, I guess it depends on whether the user is talking about Premiere (useful) or Photoshop (not useful).
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

lhopitalified
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:03 pm

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by lhopitalified » Wed May 23, 2012 12:09 pm

From http://forums.adobe.com/thread/979969:
MGE is new to Photoshop CS6, and uses both the OpenGL and OpenCL frameworks. It does not use the proprietary CUDA framework from nVidia.

smilingcrow
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Location: At Home

Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?

Post by smilingcrow » Wed May 23, 2012 12:14 pm

CA_Steve wrote:
smilingcrow wrote:I understand that CS6 benefits from both CUDA and OpenCL so again nVidia is the only way to go.
Huh? Open CL is supported by Intel, AMD and Nvidia. As for Cuda, I guess it depends on whether the user is talking about Premiere (useful) or Photoshop (not useful).
They only mentioned CS6 so who knows! For full support under CS6 go for nVidia otherwise be prepared to spend some time monitoring the Adobe forums and other sources for info.

Post Reply