30-inch monitor recommendations

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
bkoehn
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 9:50 pm
Location: Elk River, MN

30-inch monitor recommendations

Post by bkoehn » Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:36 pm

Build is an AM1 AMD 5350 (2Ghz) with integrated graphics (HD 8400)
Used for lite office work and HTPC duty > netflix/DVR.

I want to get a larger monitor, but want to make sure i'm not bottlenecked and end up paying for more than i can use...

Currently, I run a Dell 22" 1680 x 1050
but would like something closer to 30" (maybe 28")
I tried an inexpensive 60hz 32" LCD 1080p Sharp TV, but the resolution was awful at 3 feet plus noticeable lag.

1) will this unit work at 1440p / 1600p or 4K? Not for gaming, just lite duty browsing and video?
2) what features should i look for, or be willing to pay extra for? 120Hz, higher res? name brand?

THANKS in advance

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7489
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: 30-inch monitor recommendations

Post by CA_Steve » Fri Mar 13, 2015 2:09 pm

It looks like the Radeon R3 iGP supports UHD over HDMI (4k). It's a line item in your mobo's specs. However, I haven't seen whether it's using HDMI 2.0 or 1.4. The former allows for 4k/60Hz, the latter is 4k/24Hz.

cmthomson
Posts: 1266
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 am
Location: Pleasanton, CA

Re: 30-inch monitor recommendations

Post by cmthomson » Sat Mar 14, 2015 11:41 am

I'm loving my Dell 2713HM, bought about a year ago. Near perfect color out of the box (better after ColorMunki), more resolution than my aging eyes can detect, absolutely silent power supply, flexible connections (HDMI, DisplayPort, D-DVI), etc.

But it is probably overkill for what you describe, and is pricey at about $600.

mczak
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 6:13 pm

Re: 30-inch monitor recommendations

Post by mczak » Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:10 am

CA_Steve wrote:It looks like the Radeon R3 iGP supports UHD over HDMI (4k). It's a line item in your mobo's specs. However, I haven't seen whether it's using HDMI 2.0 or 1.4. The former allows for 4k/60Hz, the latter is 4k/24Hz.
No AMD chip can do HDMI 2.0 today, be it discrete gpu or integrated (soon to change presumably). 4096x2160@24Hz and 3840x2160@30Hz though should both be possible.
If the board had DP, theoretically 4k at 60 Hz could possibly work, though I wouldn't bet on it - I think Jaguar still has issues due to too small display buffers if you try to push the display outputs close to their limits (4k at 60Hz or 2 monitors with 4k@30Hz requires something like 1/6 of the total memory bandwidth just for display scanout, assuming ddr3-1600).
Oh, and for video the gpu can't decode 4k videos in hardware, and in software it's too slow (unless you're talking mpeg2 4k videos). But of course full hd videos upscaled to 4k output are working just fine.

Post Reply