beginner's commerical water cooler

The alternative to direct air cooling

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

dan

beginner's commerical water cooler

Post by dan » Mon Aug 09, 2004 4:58 pm

hi,
i was told by SPR not to overclock my tualatin but i of course did. it was easy, and it works but it puts out 40 watts of heat. i can cool it i with fans loud.

i'm thinking of going water cooling, so i can enjoy silence once again. i'm even thinking of overclocking it more as water cooling should be able to accommodate additional heat.

something i can order from pricewatch or newegg. i have no experience with water cooling.

i'd like a complete retail kit, but one that is small, can fit inside a standard midtower atx case, and use the standard 4-pin 12volt molex from the PSU, 250 watts, rather than an external power cord (to help keep cables down.)

currently i'm only cooling the cpu, running at a modest 40 watts, rather than the GPU or chipset.

so i'm looking for something introductory and yet affordable.

(i got the crazy idea to overclock from overclocker's.com - they said it was easy and it was).

to show i've done some research here are some models i've considered

Gyrox CP101 CPU Cooler: 0.63
CSE Power Cooling: 0.57 - Very quiet
3R System Poseidon WCL-03: 0.57 - Very quiet
Iceberg Watercooling Kit: 0.41
Mitron Waterblock, Radiator and Reservoir: 0.40
3R System WCL-03 90: 0.40
Aqualia Watercooling Kit: 0.39
3R System WCL-03 120: 0.38
3R System WCL-03 120: 0.38
Asetek WaterChill: 0.30

i clicked on the links and read the reviews provided at
http://www.overclockers.com/articles373/waterkit.asp

but i wonder if anyone has personal recommendations on the basis of simplicity, both in set up, and placement in case, small size, quietness, cost.

Marvin

Post by Marvin » Mon Aug 09, 2004 10:02 pm