Pre-built vs DIY for Newbie

The alternative to direct air cooling

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Gunnerbob

Pre-built vs DIY for Newbie

Post by Gunnerbob » Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:37 am

I know DIY is always better, but I'm a liquid newbie and am a bit intimidated by DIY.....though I am willing to try. So I'm looking for some expert suggestions.

Relevant Specs:
-C2D 6300 OC'd to 3.2ghz currently
-Antec P180
-4 hard drives in lower cage, Noctua case fans, very quiet setup
-8800GTS

Requirements:
-setup that will be QUIET and fit with my P180
-internal or external, but if it's external it HAS to be sleek (top mounted I suppose) and fit with the case
-CPU cooling for sure, with possibility for GPU as well (so pump, etc has to handle the flow)
-can't break the bank
-don't need extreme, just something to decently beat my air setup (Noctua NH-U12F, stock GPU HSF)

Pre-Built Options (my newbie attempt):
-Swiftech H20-120 Premium
-Koolance INX-720BK
-Danger Den 4101
-Thermaltake Bigwater 745

DIY:
-not a clue
-am in Canada so it has to be easily available here online. US companies that don't ship to Canada won't work.

Can anyone suggest both a good Pre-Built kit and a complete list of DIY components that won't break the bank and is fairly quiet? I'd really appreciate the help.
Much Thanks!

YugenM

Post by YugenM » Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:17 pm

www.ncix.com has a HUGE inventory of watercooling components, and they are also located in Canada.

www.directcanada.com is another alternative.

As for GPU cooling, almost any pump will handle the flow just fine, it's the radiator that will be the bottleneck of your loop.

Having said that, the radiator that comes with the DD 4101 is a Black Ice Xtreme, which being optimized for high-airflow fans, isn't that great for quietness.

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php? ... e=Swiftech