Suggest a quiet pump?

The alternative to direct air cooling

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Fire-Flare

Suggest a quiet pump?

Post by Fire-Flare » Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:32 pm

I'm considering adding a small loop for my comp's Christmas gift this year to assist in overclocking my CPU.

I'm a total noob to liquid cooling, but I know the pump can be soft-mounted or suspended to reduce vibration. Even so, I don't want to hear ANYTHING through my case's vents.

I don't believe I'll need a 'powerful' pump since I intend for it to only service one block, a 140mm radiator, a reservoir, and ~5 feet of tubing.

Thank you in advance.

N7SC
Location: Sunny Florida, where dead people vote 3 times in a county they never even lived in!

Re: Suggest a quiet pump?

Post by N7SC » Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:54 pm

The Laing DDC Pro, which is also sold by Swiftech as the MCP 350 is known as a pretty quiet little pump. The Pro is the 12 Watt version of the pump. Beware of the 18 Watt DDC Ultra, also known as Swiftech MCP 355, they are much louder than the Pro, but look exactly the same. Lots of other companies, besides Swiftech, put their own name on the Laing DDC pumps and sell them. The Laing DDC pumps are pretty unique in size and shape, you can spot one easily. The barbs for 3/8" ID tubing are the standard from the Laing factory. Some companies put a different top, with threaded openings, on the pumps they buy from Laing, so you can put on the fittings of your choice. Some are highly modified, some have a reservoir built on the top, etc.

Link to Swiftech MCP350 at FrozenCPU.com Use the breadcrumbs above the header for the MCP350 to get to the pumps page and check out all the other pumps too. Lots to learn there.