Advice on fan placement inside P180B

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Ranko

Advice on fan placement inside P180B

Post by Ranko » Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:26 pm

Hi!
It's my first time on this forum although I'm a regular visitor to the SPCR.I will appreciate your advice on this subject.I ordered a new case (Antec P180B) and it's coming any day now but before it arrives I have a question about fan placement inside the P180 for my hardware.
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-M57 SLI-S4 nForce570
CPU:AMD Athlon X2 64 4600+ Windsor core
CPU COOLER: Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 PRO
RAM: Transcend JetRam 2 x 1GB PC-800 DDR2
VIDEO: ATI RADEON X1800GTO 256MB (with Arctic Cooling Accelero X2 silent fan)
HDD1:WD Caviar 320GB Sata II 16MB cache
HDD2:Maxtor 80GB SATA 8MB cache
HDD3:Maxtor 120GB ATA
OPTICAL DRIVE: Pioneer 108D DVD/RW
PSU:Q-Tec 400W (stock 12cm cooler replaced with Cooler Master Ultra silent fan 720RPM)
In my old no name case the temperatures were getting really high while full load and noise was coming out in all directions due to the poor case quality, but now I'm hoping it will all change when P180B arrives.So I just need to know how many coolers do I need in the new case and what's the best configuration for my current hardware setup.Thanx in advance!

where?wolf

Post by where?wolf » Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:05 pm

Hi!

Well, probably you will manage with the included fans.

A small question about your harddrives?
Do you really need 3 of them?

If any of them are for just backup / storage? Then it could be a good idea to get an external usb enclosure for that drive.

This will lower both the temperatures, improve airflow in the lower tunnel. Wich will result in that the other drives will run cooler. And of coarce less noise. + that you can remove the middle fan in the psu tunnel.