I need a new PCIE video card

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Jay_S
*Lifetime Patron*

I need a new PCIE video card

Post by Jay_S » Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:20 pm

The only game I'm playing these days is Oblivion, and at 1680x1050 my 6800GS is just barely cutting it with all settings (except resolution!) turned way down. Grass is off, no shadows, medium textures (yuk), medium-low buildings and foliage distances, low blood decals, etc. It's not pretty, but it's still playable.

I've been playing with these settings for a few months now, and while it is playable, I miss the higher settings I could achieve with my old 1280x1024 monitor - especially the larger textures.

So, back to needing a video card. I made the mistake of buying the 6800GS right before the release of the 7600GT, which benchmarks considerably better in Oblivion supposedly due to more efficient core architecture in the 7-series. The 8-series handles oblivion better than the 7-series, but I don't want to make the same mistake I made with the 6800GS. At the resolution I play at, I'm looking at the 8800GTS. No AMD/ATI for me because I dual-boot linux, and their high-end is proving to be a bad buy compared to Nvidia at this point. With rumors of new Nvidia products due in November (9800GTX/G92/whatever), should I wait until x-mas time to start shopping?

I figure that once the 8800-series replacement is released (9800-series or whatever they call it), the 8800GTS should get a price drop.

A stop-gap solution would be a 8600GTS for around $150 to get me through the months before the next Nvidia release. The 8600GTS appears to do quite well in Oblivion (and worse than the 7600GT in just about everything else). But since Oblivion is still playable with my 6800GS, I'm not very enthusiastic about spending ANY money on something I'll soon replace.