newbie wants some advice!

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

thecatzmeow

newbie wants some advice!

Post by thecatzmeow » Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:47 pm

This is my first time building a computer of any kind, much less a quiet one, so please don't beat me if I ask any dumb questions! :D

To describe my uses: I do some music recording/editing as a hobby, but my current computer is a noisy beast, and the whirring and whining are quite audible on my super-sensitive microphone, even at 5 feet away. I also do CAD and rendering (for work), and I like to occasionally play a game or two when I have spare time (ha!)

In a perfect world, I'd have two machines - one for music and one for everything else - however I don't exactly have money coming out of my ears, so this one machine needs to be a somewhat powerful multitasker while making as little noise as possible.

That being said, here are some of the components I'm considering. Is it possible to make this a quiet system? Does anyone have any advice for me? I'm not interested in any sort of complex DIY mods especially since this is my first build. I'd like to stick to the store-bought components if at all possible. No drilling! (Cutting foam is okay!)

corsair vx450w PSU
scythe ninja
wd caviar gp OR caviar se16 500gb HDD
asus pw5 dh deluxe motherboard
intel core2duo e6850
nvidia 8800 w/arctic cooling accelero
auzentech x-fi prelude sound card

Deiz

Post by Deiz » Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:03 pm

I'm inclined to suggest a Q6600 as opposed to the E6850, as you'll see major speed boosts in all multi-threaded applications, while performing similarly in single-threaded ones.

With an 8800-series GPU, I believe the minimum recommended PSU wattage is around 400W in a mid-to-high-end system, so I'd go with the Corsair HX520W for a little bit more headroom.