processor upgrade

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
pixel_pimp
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:07 am
Location: UK

processor upgrade

Post by pixel_pimp » Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:58 pm

Not so much a silent question but more a general query regarding CPUs -

Been out of the tinkering game for some time and have become much more of a user than a tweaker :-) I'm running a sempron 3200 just now with XP Pro.

I was thinking of upgrading to an Athlon X2 64 but was wondering, will my existing XP installation be alright after the upgrade?

Dumb question I'm sure but then that should make it easy to answer ;-)

Thanks
Sempron 3200 AM2 // Asus M2NPV-MX Mobo with GF 6150 onboard // 2GB (2x1GB) PC5300 DDRII // Noctua NH-U9 running passive // Antec SOLO w TriCool 120mm // Xilence 420W PSU // Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200Gb SATA // LG L1720B 17" TFT

spookmineer
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 749
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 6:02 pm

Post by spookmineer » Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:52 pm

It won't affect the OS in any way, in the past I've upgraded from a 1 GHz to a 2.8 GHz without a problem (needed a new motherboard as well to do this).

There have been some weird stories about XP making trouble if you upgrade a lot of hardware, but after my latest upgrade (*all* hardware renewed) XP still functioned as before.

pixel_pimp
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:07 am
Location: UK

Post by pixel_pimp » Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:57 am

Thanks for the reply - so the switch from 32-bit to 64-bit won't pose a problem, then? Presumably, if I then upgrade to 64-bit version of XP, I'll see a bit of a speed bump.
Sempron 3200 AM2 // Asus M2NPV-MX Mobo with GF 6150 onboard // 2GB (2x1GB) PC5300 DDRII // Noctua NH-U9 running passive // Antec SOLO w TriCool 120mm // Xilence 420W PSU // Maxtor DiamondMax 10 200Gb SATA // LG L1720B 17" TFT

FartingBob
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 744
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:05 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by FartingBob » Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:49 am

pixel_pimp wrote:Presumably, if I then upgrade to 64-bit version of XP, I'll see a bit of a speed bump.
No not really. 64-bit programs arent necessarily faster than their 32-bit versions, they can just take advantage of more RAM if needed.
I have no signature!

ACook
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: In the Palace

Post by ACook » Sat Feb 07, 2009 7:02 am

not sure if you can upgrade from 32bit windows to 64bit, if that's what you're after. You don't need a 64bit OS for a 64bit cpu, in case that was a confusion, seen enough ppl think that to warrant that comment.

Upgrading an existing install to me is never a good idea, that's just me.

but simply putting another cpu in your system won't look any different to your existing XP install, it'll just run a bit faster.
With 2GB mem you won't benefit really from XP64, and you've got the nice amount to run xp sweet with, in day to day windows tasks you probably won't even notice that much difference with the new cpu, but with heavy tasks like encoding there'll be quite a speedboost.

good luck
[size=75]Antec P182 | Seasonic S12II-380W | Asus EAH3450/HTP/512M
Asus M3A-H/HDMI | AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850E @ +5% | Ninja Rev B
Sony-NEC AD-7200S & Lite On LH-20A1H | Samsung HD501LJ & 4x F1 1TB.
Toshiba Satellite 1900-102.[/size]

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7431
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: Monterey Bay, CA

Post by CA_Steve » Sat Feb 07, 2009 2:14 pm

Be sure to:

- make an image/backup of your HDD. Then test it out to make sure it works :-)
- update your BIOS before the swap so your mobo recognizes the CPU
- reset CMOS prior to starting up.
- adjust the bios settings to make sure the north bridge, memory bus, etc is set for speeds that will run without problems....
- boot windows into safe mode so none of your startup programs (like antivirus programs etc) run during bring up mode.
- use memtest and prime95 to make sure the system is stable.

Otherwise, your system could boot up into a default speed that causes memory corruption...then watch as your A/V program starts up and looks over your hard drive...corrupting data as it scans. (my personal horror story)
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

BlueBirdTS
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 7:55 pm
Location: US

Post by BlueBirdTS » Sat Feb 07, 2009 6:37 pm

I wouldn't install XP 64-bit. It has a lot of driver incompatibility issues. 64-bit computing won't even become mainstream until Windows 7, so don't worry about it for now.

Post Reply