New system woes

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Nudz

New system woes

Post by Nudz » Wed Mar 11, 2009 9:45 am

I made a thread a little while back about making a new computer, and woe has struck.

First of all the Zalman 1000W-HP Silent which was on the recommended list (at the top to boot) emits a constant high pitched whine. It's driving me absolutely up the wall.
Has anyone else experienced this? Is there a fix?

Secondly, my P180 case is just feeling too small for my components. Both the card and the PSU took up way more space than I anticipated, there's a mess of cabling (i'm not good at cablemanagement even under good conditions, this was hell). I'm looking to probably buy a new case down the line and will be getting something with AMPLE space. Any suggestions for this? The main space problems lies in depth, front to back.

There seems to be less space between my GPU and my Soundcard, so I can't use the VGA cooler I bought, which is disheartening to say the elast since the 280 emits a jet-like sound under load and is most definitely not near quiet otherwise (I bought it full well knowing this, planning to change cooler). The only one that seems to be able to fit is the Accellero GTX 280 from arctic cooling (if I use the power of assumption).

Last but not least I cannot get speedfan to work to get my fans to slow down. Considering the temperatures ramping up under load I don't want to set the fans at a constant 5v or 7v, but now my motherboard runs them at full speed.
It's a gigabyte ga-ex58-ds4 and I bought in part since it's listed on speedfan's site as compatible. I'm not sure what to do about this.

Long post, many sound woes.

psiu

Post by psiu » Wed Mar 11, 2009 11:00 am