Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Abula
Posts: 3633
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Location: Guatemala

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by Abula » Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:18 pm

From Kitguru OCZ Power Supply Roundup

Image

You should have a cable that has 4 connectors, kinda flat, you can see them on the picture above in the middle. Those are the Sata power connectors, those should fit your sata harddrive, just be careful as there are latches, it has a way to enter, see both the PSU sata and the hdd shape before you plug it.

khaakon
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 4:29 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by khaakon » Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:28 pm

If your RAM and CPU heatsink isn't touching you should be fine, just remember to be careful if reinstalling. RAM chips can be really hard to install because, yes - you need to apply lotsa pressure to make it go 'click'. It's possible to also press lightly on the latches to help out. Having installed fresh RAM/MoBo a few times I've been afraid to break the PCB...

On the M/B chassi screws, you must look for which holes correspond with the M/B you've got. From your picture I would say most of those on the left side, and none of those on the right side.

matthenewbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:38 am

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by matthenewbie » Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:04 pm

Calling it a night now.

Just need to connect all the power cables. Sort the wires. Then boot.

Been a heck of a experience so far.

Made a few mistakes. Weather the pc boots or not is another thing

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7504
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by CA_Steve » Tue Sep 17, 2013 7:44 pm

matthenewbie wrote:Are the S/O screws in the correct place? or do they go in the outer holes?
Try this: align the i/o ports on the motherboard with the case. Once that's in place, you can see where the mobo standoff holes are.

lodestar
Posts: 1683
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:29 am
Location: UK

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by lodestar » Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:22 am

+1

matthenewbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:38 am

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by matthenewbie » Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:17 am

Almost there now.

For some reason my pcu came with 2 cables with (CPU) on them. However i can only find one slot.

Just need to plug the power cable into the DVD DRIVE. And i am DONE.

Next Task (Cable Management)

The rules are NO cables touching the motherboard right? Secondly a little worried about my sata cables. and im not sure if i can avoid them touching my G-CARD!

Also does everything look good from the picture that people can see

Image

matthenewbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:38 am

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by matthenewbie » Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:14 am

Just looked at the wires that come with the case.

there is no Clear cmos or COM wires :/ ?

I guessing its supposed to come with these? there is also no Command Chassie lead to go in the FP either

Vicotnik
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1828
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU

Post by Vicotnik » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:06 pm

matthenewbie wrote:For some reason my pcu came with 2 cables with (CPU) on them. However i can only find one slot.
Some motherboards has an 8pin connector (or two 4pin side by side) for extra power, but most just have one 4pin. It's normal. :)

The cables themselves can touch the motherboard, just make sure they don't obstruct the fan. Most cable management enthusiasts opt for style and low air resistance.

Post Reply