DAW on a Budget

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

jeb.jr

DAW on a Budget

Post by jeb.jr » Sun Jul 17, 2016 12:27 pm

I'm looking to assemble a budget Digital Audio Workstation.

I am a hobbyist and what I do is relatively simple, and I do not need the expensive stuff that professional studios get. I've been running Ubuntu Studio with a Core 2 Duo, but I want a newer, faster and quieter computer. I will not be overclocking or playing games.

I've already narrowed down the core components:
CPU: Intel i5-6600
Motherboard: MSI H110M-PRO-VD
Memory: 8GBx2 dual channel DDR4 2133 (from a reputable brand)
SSD: 480GB SATA3 (from a reputable brand)
DVD-RW: cheapest one I can find
Graphics: Integrated as there are no high-performance graphics requirements.

The ideal case would be a micro-ATX tower, or maybe a small ATX tower.

There's a remaining budget of about $120 US for the case and power supply, and maybe aftermarket CPU cooling.

Since I won't have a graphics card or HDD to make any noise, would it be better to:
Go cheap on the case and get a quiet aftermarket CPU cooler?
Or use the stock cooler with a better case?

What power supply is recommended? I've seen web-based power supply estimators say anywhere from 150 to 400 Watts!

quest_for_silence

Re: DAW on a Budget

Post by quest_for_silence » Mon Jul 18, 2016 12:35 am

That's the way I would do it: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/sstfHN

quest_for_silence

Post by quest_for_silence » Mon Jul 18, 2016 4:02 am

quest_for_silence wrote:That's the way I would do it: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/sstfHN
Smaller: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/HN73bj

ggumdol

Post by ggumdol » Mon Jul 18, 2016 5:54 am