Replacing my (t)rusty i5-750

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Sero

Replacing my (t)rusty i5-750

Post by Sero » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:10 pm

Greetings, silence lovers!

I've been visiting your website for a few years, but I never got around to building a new PC, until now.

Warning, wall of text follows, here's the tl;dr version:

1) is there any motherboard in particular that has better fan/temperature control and reliability than others, gaming not being a priority? Is the number of fan controllers and auto-detection of pwm/non-pwm the deciding factor?
2) should I wait for the CPU pricing/performance competition to play out for the next few months or should I just build now?
3) the fractal define series being overpriced here, what's an alternative for a reasonably priced matx/atx with 2 large, low rpm, filtered intake fans with a PSU not on top of the motherboard? (or whatever gives me dustless silence on a non-gaming, non overclocked system, looks are not a factor).

Thanks!

The system I'm replacing is pretty old, i5 750 with a Gigabyte P55a ud3r motherboard, inside an even older Chieftec case that I got in 2005. Built like a tank but noisy, bad airflow, no space behind the motherboard, no cpu cooler cut-out, no front intake fans, PSU on top of motherboard. I'd have to use power tools on it to get it usable on a modern build, so I'm getting a new case and doing a more up-to-date build.

Don't laugh, for what I've been using this system for, it's actually been running great, close to 24/7, so I have only nice things to say about the components. It's more than 7 years old and it needs to be retired.

I'll be doing a build around a recent 65W intel CPU with integrated graphics, Ryzen is out of the question because I don't want/need the additional gpu card right now.