Need passive 939 MB with good O/B sound

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Skye

Need passive 939 MB with good O/B sound

Post by Skye » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:38 pm

I'm kind of new at the quiet PC thing and I'm a little overwhelmed at the amount of choices for a MB.

I'm building a new rig that I will use mostly for heavy office tasks and some gaming (racing simulators). I also play lots of music through a pretty nice 4.1 Cambridge Sound Works system and would like to ditch my old soundblaster.

Am I right that I want the nForce 4 chipset for the best on board sound?

I'm planning on buying a 6600GT PCI-E card. Will it work with all of the nForce 4 (4x,sli,ultra,etc.) chipsets?

NeilBlanchard

Post by NeilBlanchard » Wed Mar 15, 2006 7:54 pm

Hello & welcome to SPCR,

I'd look at the Gigabyte nForce4 motherboards, but there is a passive Asus and one from Abit, as well. I'm pretty sure that video card will work just fine.

The nForce chipset no longer includes their previous and excellent sound capability. :( Many mobo's use the Realtek sound, which will work pretty well -- just don't install their silly program; just let Windows install the drivers.

Operandi

Post by Operandi » Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:38 pm

The nForce4 dose not have the best onboard sound; far from it. All the AMD nForce4 boards are stuck using the AC97 codec. For the best onboard sound on the AMD side ATi has the best solutions.

Abit has the AT8, Asus has the A8R32-MVP, and MSI has the RD480 Neo2.

Regarding the graphics card; as long as it's a PCI-E 16x slot it will work, the chipset is irrelevant.

pony-tail

Post by pony-tail » Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:20 am

The Asus Nforce 4 SLI boards haveissues with quite a few Power Supplies -