AMD A64 X2 TDP Poll

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

MikeC
Site Admin
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

AMD A64 X2 TDP Poll

Post by MikeC » Sat Apr 08, 2006 12:32 pm

By now, everyone who has an AMD A64 CPU should be aware that individual TDP info is embedded in recent "E" stepping processors. This is a poll to get an idea of the range of TDPs in X2 processors. (pre-"E" stepping processors are not included in this poll.)

Please use AMD64 TCaseMax v1.18 to obtain the info about your A64-X2 processor. Please use the format below to report your info. Periodically, all the results from this list will be compiled and summarized in edits of this post.

There are 2 X2 processors at SPCR right now:

X2-3800+, Toledo, Rev, JH9-E6, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2-4800+, Toledo, Rev, JH9-E6, 59°C, 1.35V, 85.0W

----------------------------------------------------
Summary, morning Aug 14/06 - ordered by TDP, low to high

Optrn 175, JH9-E6, 49°C, 1.35V, 35.0W
Optrn 180, JH9-E6, 49°C, 1.35V, 35.0W
Optrn 165, JH9-E6, 51°C, 1.35V, 45.0W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 59°C, 1.35V, 53.1W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 59°C, 1.35V, 53.1W
X2-3800+, JH9-E6, 61°C, 1.35V, 59.4W
X2-3800+, JH9-E6, 61°C, 1.35V, 59.4W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 61°C, 1.35V, 59.4W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 61°C, 1.35V, 59.4W
X2-4400+, JH9-E6, 55°C, 1.35V, 65.0W / 40.6W
X2-4400+, JH9-E6, 55°C, 1.35V, 65.0W / 40.6W
X2-4400+, JH9-E6, 55°C, 1.35V, 65.0W / 40.6W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2-3800+, JH9-E6, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2-4200+, BH9-E4, 63°C, 1.35V, 65.6W
X2-3800+, JH9-E6, 65°C, 1.35V, 71.9W
X2 3800+, BH9-E4, 67°C, 1.35V, 78.1W
X2-3800+, JH9-E6, 67°C, 1.35V, 78.1W
X2-4200+, BH9-E4, 67°C, 1.35V, 78.1W
X2-4600+, BH9-E4, 59°C, 1.35V, 85.0W
X2-4800+, JH9-E6, 59°C, 1.35V, 85.0W
X2-3800+, BH9-E4, 71°C, 1.35V, 89.0W
Optrn 165, JH9-E6, 63°C, 1.35V, 105.0W
Last edited by MikeC on Mon Aug 14, 2006 8:50 am, edited 9 times in total.

frostedflakes
Posts: 1608
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: United States

Post by frostedflakes » Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:02 pm

Might be useful to post voltage as well, keep in mind there are both 1.35V and 1.4V E stepping. :)

X2-3800+, Toledo, Rev. JH9-E6, 61*C, 1.35V, 59.4W

Also, there are only two Athlon64 X2 cores currently available, Manchester (2x512KB L2) and Toledo (2x1MB L2).

Zorander
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 2:11 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post by Zorander » Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:05 pm

X2-3800+, Toledo, Rev, JH9-E6, 67°C, 1.35V, 78.1W




Strange though that my 3800+ was once reported as a Manchester and now the latest CPU-Z is reporting it as a Toledo (so does TCaseMax). My CPU has only 2x512KB L2.

Edit: Looks like mine has a relatively high TDP value. It performs very cool though.

openwheelformula1
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:58 am

Post by openwheelformula1 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 3:05 pm

X2-3800+, Toledo, Rev, JH9-E6, 65°C, 1.35V, 71.9W

Dutch2
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 9:16 am
Location: NC, USA
Contact:

Post by Dutch2 » Sat Apr 08, 2006 6:14 pm

X2 3800+ (Manchester) rev BH9-E4, 1.350v, 63C, 65.6 Watts

quikkie
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:21 am
Location: Soham, UK

Post by quikkie » Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:53 am

cut n paste from tcasemax with some info removed:
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 2018.23 (201.82 x 10.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 61C
TDP: 59.4 Watts

or if you prefer: X2 3800+ (Manchester) rev BH9-E4, 1.350v, 61C, 59.4 Watts

nutball
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Location: en.gb.uk

Post by nutball » Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:46 pm

AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: B, Stepping: 1
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 2B, Stepping: 1
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 2010.38 (201.04 x 10.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 71C
TDP: 89.0 Watts

AKA:

X2-3800+, Manchester, BH9-E4, 71°C, 1.35V, 89.0W

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7681
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:52 am

Hello,

AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: B, Stepping: 1
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 2B, Stepping: 1
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 2211.33 (201.03 x 11.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 63C
TDP: 105.0 / 65.6 Watts

Written by: Arthur Liberman.
Idea by: Petr Koc.
More info at: http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/fo ... c.php?t=83
--------------------------------

I'm able to undervolt to 1.264v (from CPU-Z).

halcyon
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1115
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 3:52 am
Location: EU

Post by halcyon » Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:56 am

Opteron 180 (s939), Toledo, Rev JH9-E6, 49C, 1.35V, 35.0W

long form:
AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------
CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: 3, Stepping: 2
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 23, Stepping: 2
CPUID String: 20F32
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron 180 (Toledo)
CPU Speed: 2411.12 (200.93 x 12.0)
Revision: JH9-E6
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 49C
TDP: 35.0 Watts

Hifriday
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:32 pm

Post by Hifriday » Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:18 am

halcyon wrote:Opteron 180 (s939), Toledo, Rev JH9-E6, 49C, 1.35V, 35.0W
Don't mean to go OT, but Halycon have you tried undervolting your Opteron? Also how hard/easy is it to cool this CPU under load?

halcyon
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1115
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 3:52 am
Location: EU

Post by halcyon » Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:06 am

[offtopic]
Not yet. Too early in stability testing. If it sticks at this, then voltages down (or Mhz up).
Thanks for the tip, btw!
[/offtopic]

oldabelincoln
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2003 3:46 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Post by oldabelincoln » Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:49 pm

X2-3800+, JH9-E6, 61°C, 1.35V, 59.4W

buzzlightyear
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:35 am

Post by buzzlightyear » Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:01 pm

Opteron 165, JH9-E6, 63°C, 1.35V, 105W


AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: 3, Stepping: 2
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 23, Stepping: 2
CPUID String: 20F32
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron 165 (Toledo)
CPU Speed: 2809.88 (401.41 x 7.0)
Revision: JH9-E6
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 63C
TDP: 105.0 Watts

Hifriday
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:32 pm

Post by Hifriday » Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:26 pm

buzzlightyear wrote:Opteron 165, JH9-E6, 63°C, 1.35V, 105W
CPU Speed: 2809.88 (401.41 x 7.0)
Nice OC!! That's an awfully high TDP, do you mind sharing when you bought this chip? How are you cooling this chip, I assume it's not in your quiet HTPC rig!?

BTW if you still have your Opteron144, would you mind posting it's TDP as well, I read in this thread you mentioned even undervolted it ran 10C hotter at idle than a 35W Mobile Oakville in the same setup.

Jonobi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Post by Jonobi » Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:09 pm

Optrn 165, JH9-E6, 51°C, 1.350v, 45W

Mine is one of the CCBWE 0550UPMW stepping which are normally quite good. I have not overclocked it really yet.

-Jonobi

buzzlightyear
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:35 am

Post by buzzlightyear » Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:31 am

OT alert:

Are you sure you have both cores recognized by the OS? Your TDP is half of mine and we share the same revision number.

May be you used the older version of AMD64CaseMax?? May be not.

I HAD an Opteron 165 with the CCBWE 0551VPMW stepping. It could undervolted to 1.8g @ 1.025v but the overclock result was not impressive at all. Before I learned about the TcaseMAX factor, I thought I had a bad OC cpu, so I sold it at a small lost.

Jonobi wrote:Optrn 165, JH9-E6, 51°C, 1.350v, 45W

Mine is one of the CCBWE 0550UPMW stepping which are normally quite good. I have not overclocked it really yet.

-Jonobi
Last edited by buzzlightyear on Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:32 am, edited 7 times in total.

buzzlightyear
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:35 am

Post by buzzlightyear » Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:39 am

I brought the Opteron 165 last week from Monarch Computer. The stepping is one of the OC wonder : CCB1E 0608 MPMW. It could do 2.83ghz with stock 1.35v stable--- 312fsbx9 and 2.2ghz at 1.1v (312fsb x 7).

Sadly, naively, I thought I could replace my Mobile Oakville HTPC with these Opterons. Now I learn.....

I will post my TCaseMAX for my Opteron 144 (cacje 0602gpmw) later. It is another OC wonder as it could do 2.83ghz at stock 1.4v

jaganath
Posts: 5085
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Location: UK

Post by jaganath » Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:52 am

Sadly, naively, I thought I could replace my Mobile Oakville HTPC with these Opterons. Now I learn.....
What's the main problem? The chips run too hot?

buzzlightyear
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:35 am

Post by buzzlightyear » Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:37 am

Yes. I've mentioned that in one of the thread. My under-volted to 1.1v Opteron is still running almost 10c higher temp than my over-volted (to 1.475v) Mobile Oakville at idle.

I have not given up yet. I am trying some new massive heatsinks like Ninja or others. May be try a small water-cooling kit.
jaganath wrote:
Sadly, naively, I thought I could replace my Mobile Oakville HTPC with these Opterons. Now I learn.....
What's the main problem? The chips run too hot?

nutball
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1304
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Location: en.gb.uk

Post by nutball » Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:46 am

Here's another data point :)

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: B, Stepping: 1
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 2B, Stepping: 1
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 1005.15 (201.03 x 5.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 61C
TDP: 59.4 Watts


X2-3800+, BH9-E4, 61°C, 59.4W

macman
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 2:07 am
Location: Australia

Post by macman » Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:12 am

X2-4400+, Toledo, JH9-E6, 55°C, 1.35V, 65.0 / 40.6 Watts

I get two values in the TDP field (65.0 / 40.6 Watts)

buzzlightyear
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 8:35 am

Post by buzzlightyear » Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:08 pm

I still don't understand this. But just look at the big different in TDP among these three Opteron.

The three Opteron data we have so far:

Optrn 165, JH9-E6, 51°C, 1.35V, 45.0W
Optrn 165, JH9-E6, 63°C, 1.35V, 105.0W(<-My hunka hunka burning love)
Opteron 180 (s939), Toledo, Rev JH9-E6, 49C, 1.35V, 35.0W

The hot one is mine and it can do 2.83ghz @ stock 1.35v. And even when it is under-volted to just 1.1v (2.2ghz), it's idle temp is still @ 36-38c. BTW, I am using the AMD stock heatpipe heatsink. I have a Freezer64 Pro and a Ninja in order.
Last edited by buzzlightyear on Thu Apr 13, 2006 5:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Jonobi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:03 pm

Post by Jonobi » Thu Apr 13, 2006 5:01 pm

Buzz - I am pretty sure both cores are working with mine. Two load measures in the Task Manager and windows does recognize it as an ACPI Multiprocessor system. I used v1.19 of the program and attached the info below.

I picked the CPU up at NCIX a few weeks ago and the other people with the same stepping as mine have been getting very good overclocks at default voltage. Some more recent batches have been the CCBWE 0551UPMW and they seem to require a bit more voltage.


-------- Mike - This one has already been added so please dont add it again

AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: 3, Stepping: 2
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 23, Stepping: 2
CPUID String: 20F32
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: Dual Core AMD Opteron 165 (Toledo)
CPU Speed: 1808.35 (200.93 x 9.0)
Revision: JH9-E6
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 51C
TDP: 45.0 Watts

NoizEnvader
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 1:44 pm
Location: Cape Town

Post by NoizEnvader » Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:44 am

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester) Rev BH9-E4, 1.350v, 63C, 65.6 Watts

smilingcrow
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Location: At Home

Post by smilingcrow » Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:26 am

AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.18
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester)
Revision: BH9-E4
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 63C
TDP: 65.6 Watts

Running fully stable at stock frequency @1.15V (CrystalCPUID)

defaultluser
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:39 pm

Post by defaultluser » Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:04 am

Just did a new system build:

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: B, Stepping: 1
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 2B, Stepping: 1
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 2015.05 (403.01 x 5.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 61C
TDP: 59.4 Watts

~El~Jefe~
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: New York City zzzz
Contact:

Post by ~El~Jefe~ » Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:30 pm

AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: B, Stepping: 1
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 2B, Stepping: 1
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 1000.04 (200.01 x 5.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 67C
TDP: / 78.1 Watts

Have no idea what format you want it in, but raw data is raw data. Im going to sleep now

Raygers
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

Post by Raygers » Fri Apr 28, 2006 3:25 pm

I'm not sure why you want this info and I'm even more not sure as to what it all means, but I'm sure it's for a good cause. :lol:

X2-4400+, Toledo, Rev, JH9-E6, 55C, 1.35V, 65.0/40.6W

Ray

sanse
Posts: 399
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 9:48 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by sanse » Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:37 am

this is what i got through the clipboard from the tcasemax-utility:

>>>
X2 4400+, Toledo, Rev, JH9-E6, 55C , 1.350v, 65.0 / 40.6 Watts

mai9
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 2:56 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post by mai9 » Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:33 pm

here's mine :)
AMD64 TCaseMax - v1.19
----------------------

CPU Information (CPU #1):
Standard CPUID: Family: F, Model: B, Stepping: 1
Extended CPUID: Family: F, Model: 2B, Stepping: 1
CPUID String: 20FB1
Processor APIC: 0
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Manchester)
CPU Speed: 2211.46 (201.04 x 11.0)
Revision: BH9-E4
Platform: Socket 939
Startup VCore: 1.350v
Maximum Case Temperature = 63C
TDP: 105.0 / 65.6 Watts

Written by: Arthur Liberman.
Idea by: Petr Koc.
More info at: http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/fo ... c.php?t=83
Mine has lower TDP/Maximum Case Temperature than "~El~Jefe~", this means mine is worse? :cry: [edit] it seems mine is better :lol: [2nd edit] it seems that higher means hotter and better for overclocking (everything read from the link MikeC posted)

Post Reply