Q6600 G0-stepping power consumption

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Juventas
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Canada

Q6600 G0-stepping power consumption

Post by Juventas » Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:07 pm

I'm having trouble finding an article with a comparison of the Q6600 with G0-stepping against other Core 2's in terms of power consumption. Here's the best comparisons I've found so far...

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/di ... html#sect0
http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=9323&page=9 (bottom graph)
http://www.matbe.com/articles/lire/385/ ... /page5.php

Off topic but interesting, Hexus makes the point, "the E6750 turns in considerably lower (power consumption) results than the 6000+ at idle and peak load, all the while offering faster performance." Hurts to be AMD.

pputer
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:05 am

Post by pputer » Wed Jul 25, 2007 1:24 am

It looks like, according to that article, one could guess it's between 190 and 196 v.s. 189 for the Dual Core processors.

jojo4u
Posts: 806
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 7:00 am
Location: Germany

Re: Q6600 G0-stepping power consumption

Post by jojo4u » Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:02 am

Juventas wrote:"the E6750 turns in considerably lower (power consumption) results than the 6000+ at idle and peak load, all the while offering faster performance." Hurts to be AMD.
It's 975x vs. 590 SLI - no wonder ....

zoob
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:12 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Post by zoob » Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:55 am

I should be receiving my Q6600 tomorrow. I can do some quick tests vs my E6700 overclocked and stock if you'd like.

It'll be overall system draw @ idle/load using my Kill-A-Watt if I can find the damned thing.
solo ii: i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx660ti - crucial m4 256gb - ax750
t61p: t9300 - 2x2gb - intel 330 240gb
win2008: i3 2100 - z77pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml 12x2tb wd eads r6 - cx400

pputer
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:05 am

Post by pputer » Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:17 pm

That would be interesting, zoob.

fresh
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:30 pm
Location: Slovenia

Post by fresh » Fri Jul 27, 2007 1:36 am

Yeah, showing comparison between both power consuptions would be neat. Especially in idle.
The sounds of silence, brushed my ear-drums.
Gigabyte G33m-DS2R, E4500, 2x1 GB DDR2 800, 500 GB HD501LJ, 7600gt

nemo
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 6:45 am

Post by nemo » Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:26 am

Q6400 seems to be around the corner:

http://geizhals.at/eu/a268708.html

vg30et
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am

Post by vg30et » Sun Jul 29, 2007 5:15 am

Here are some numbers from my system measured from a kill-a-watt.

System specs
CPU: Q6600 G0
Motherboard: Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Video: ATI X850XT PE
Sound: SB Audigy 2
HDD: 250GB Seagate 7200.10
RAM: 2GB (2x1GB) DDR2-800 @1.8V

Whole system power consumption
At 1.25V default voltage
Idle (1.6GHz@1.25V): 112W
4x CPUBurn (2.4GHz@1.25V): 165W

RMClock 1.162V for all p-states
Idle (1.6GHz@1.162V): 105W
4x CPUBurn (2.4GHz@1.162V): 152W

RMClock doesn't seem to allow voltages lower than 1.162V so I tried undervolting in BIOS. It was stable down to ~1.03V before Orthos started crashing so I settled for 1.05V.

Bios Undervolted 1.05V, EIST still throttles down to 1.6GHz
Idle (1.6GHz@1.05V): 97W
4x CPUBurn (2.4GHz@1.05V): 134W

fresh
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 2:30 pm
Location: Slovenia

Post by fresh » Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:14 am

Nice report. Sad to see rmcolck so limited in some situations, but I a simple patch could fix that.

Quads seem interesting, but for now, I prefer lower power consumption over brute speed. But who knows what will the sky drop on us tommorow.
The sounds of silence, brushed my ear-drums.
Gigabyte G33m-DS2R, E4500, 2x1 GB DDR2 800, 500 GB HD501LJ, 7600gt

zoob
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:12 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Post by zoob » Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:17 pm

Nuts. NCIX shipped me a B3 Q6600. Sorry! I won't be able to do Q6600 G0 vs E6700 B2 power consumption testing. Unless you'd like Q6600 B3 vs E6700 B2 :)
solo ii: i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx660ti - crucial m4 256gb - ax750
t61p: t9300 - 2x2gb - intel 330 240gb
win2008: i3 2100 - z77pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml 12x2tb wd eads r6 - cx400

pputer
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:05 am

Post by pputer » Sun Jul 29, 2007 5:20 pm

zoob, how did you discover you got B3? I know that the code for G0 stepping is SLACR but where do you read that when you receive your cpu?

Also, do you know if you can ask the retailer (in your case, NCIX) for g0/SLACR? I thought NCIX had the g0 stepping since they had buyers post that they received it from them.

Hmmm... I don't want to pay over $100 (compared to E6750) if I'm receiving the B3 one. I want something cool-running and even if it's G0 stepping, you still are wise to buy a cooler so I don't want something running even hotter for more money.

I hope someone can answer whether you can request the G0 stepping when you buy. I'm going to ask some retailers anyway but I am afraid that it's not the easiest thing to do (considering most people will want the G0).

vg30et
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:14 am

Post by vg30et » Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:04 pm

pputer wrote:I hope someone can answer whether you can request the G0 stepping when you buy. I'm going to ask some retailers anyway but I am afraid that it's not the easiest thing to do (considering most people will want the G0).
NCIX says that they won't guarantee what stepping you get, it's all luck at the moment. They do send an email to you when the product ships and it lists the item number + stepping info - SL9UM = B3, SLACR = G0.

The only guaranteed place to get a G0 stepping Q6600 is tankguys: http://www.tankguys.biz/product_info.ph ... e1288a1760. I haven't kept up with the G0 stepping availability lately so there may be more vendors now. See http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread ... ight=q6600.

pputer
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:05 am

Post by pputer » Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:26 pm

Interesting, thanks. Wow, Tankguys want almost $20 for shipping. :shock:

continuum
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 10:23 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by continuum » Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:57 am

Er? The Tankguys shipping charge when I checked is $8.13 for me. I take it you're not in the USA?

pputer
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:05 am

Post by pputer » Tue Jul 31, 2007 8:26 am

continuum wrote:Er? The Tankguys shipping charge when I checked is $8.13 for me. I take it you're not in the USA?
Nope. Canada.

Juventas
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Canada

Post by Juventas » Tue Jul 31, 2007 7:19 pm

If you want a G0 from ncix you have two choices:
1) go in the store, ask for one, and then just look at the sn on the box before handing them your plastic.
2) buy online, look at your invoice after it's processed, it will contain the sn, and if it's not right, refuse the parcel from the courier and your invoice will be refunded.

zoob
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 7:12 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact:

Post by zoob » Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:05 am

Just wanted to chime in again. My results are similar to what Anandtech had.

Main components of interest:
Q6600 B3 vs G0
Gigabyte P35-DS3R
400x8 @ 1.32500V in BIOS (1.280V in CPU-Z @ load)

Total system load w/Prime95 Small FFTs on all four cores

B3: 244W loaded
G0: 238W loaded

6 watt difference. I didn't run any other tests, but if someone has a request I can give it a shot when I have some time.

The G0 reports that it runs 10C cooler than the B3 at the same volts and speed.
solo ii: i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx660ti - crucial m4 256gb - ax750
t61p: t9300 - 2x2gb - intel 330 240gb
win2008: i3 2100 - z77pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml 12x2tb wd eads r6 - cx400

Lensman
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:15 am

Post by Lensman » Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:00 am

ClubIT has the Q6600 and allows ordering either B3 (SL9UM) or G0 (SLACR) steppings. I dunno how much they charge for shipping to Canada. They are in California, AFAIK.

Post Reply