Gigabyte Ultradurable 3 ?

All about them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
dan
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:01 am
Contact:

Gigabyte Ultradurable 3 ?

Post by dan » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:05 am

Hi,

Gigabyte markets its Ultradurable 3 as allowing cooler overclocks due to use of copper, solid japanese capacities and other technologies.

What about stock voltage?

Does it run cooler and last longer? Is it superior to competing high end from ASUS or MSI?


I infer that given its "ultradurable claim" for high overclocks, it can tolerate much higher temps (lower fan and air flow) at stock speed and voltage?

i.e ultradurable running stock 2ghz core 2 duo w/ 1 cpu fan and 1 case fan spun slow

thanks

MtnHermit
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 9:25 am
Location: Colorado

Better ingredients, Better Pizza

Post by MtnHermit » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:41 am

dan wrote:Gigabyte markets its Ultradurable 3 as allowing cooler overclocks due to use of copper, solid japanese capacities and other technologies.
Better ingredients, Better Pizza. It's all just marketing speak. Most of the industry has moved to Japanese solid caps.

I ordered a Gigabyte MB because of many favorable reviews and a nice feature set. I've since learned their MB's tend to consume more power. I'll know more this afternoon when UPS arrives.
Living Off-the-Grid Solar Electric on 3KWH per Day

smilingcrow
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Location: At Home

Re: Better ingredients, Better Pizza

Post by smilingcrow » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:04 pm

MtnHermit wrote:I ordered a Gigabyte MB because of many favorable reviews and a nice feature set. I've since learned their MB's tend to consume more power.
Asus have a bad reputation for excessive consumption with certain boards but haven’t seen any significant reviews suggesting that GB have issues.

wywywywy
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: UK

Re: Better ingredients, Better Pizza

Post by wywywywy » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:41 am

MtnHermit wrote:I've since learned their MB's tend to consume more power. I'll know more this afternoon when UPS arrives.
That is probably true. My Gigabyte board by default OVER volts.
[size=75][color=green]Save a tree - [b]use MoDT![/b][/color] Desktop: Core 2 Duo T7200 + MSI 945GT Speedster // Desktop2: Core 2 Duo T5600 + Aopen i945GTm-VHL // HTPC: Core Duo T2400 + Aopen i945GMm-HL // Server: Intel D945GCLF2 // CarPC: Intel D201GLY[/size]

Post Reply