HTPC/Server Atom vs Celeron ?

Ecological issues around computing. This is an experimental forum.

Moderators: Ralf Hutter, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Bartel
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Denmark

HTPC/Server Atom vs Celeron ?

Post by Bartel » Sat Feb 27, 2010 1:13 am

I’m in that situation that I’m going to build a HTPC/Server, it will be placed in my living room running 24/7.

So it has to be quiet and low power consumption.

It has to have HDMI out-put.

It will properly be running Win7 or Windows Server 2008 with some VMware on.

My first thinking was buying a ATOM based ITX motherboard

ZOTAC ION ITX F
WD Caviar Green WD15EARS 1.5 TB or
Samsung SpinPoint F2EG Desktop Class HD154UI 1.5 TB

Kingston HyperX 2 x 2 GB - Some spare I don’t use right now(actually got 4x2GB).
Aopen S 135B

Well that setup is pretty easy to make and it’s quiet and pretty low power consumption.

But I’m not sure the atom CPU is enough for me.
So I was thinking building a system with

Celeron E3300 1 MB
ZOTAC GeForce 9300 - Micro Atx
WD Caviar Green WD15EARS 1.5 TB or
Samsung SpinPoint F2EG Desktop Class HD154UI 1.5 TB

Kingston HyperX 4 x 2 GB

My biggest question is will it be possible to underclock/undervolte the Celeron E3300, so my systems max peak doesn’t hit over 60Watt?

And ofc keep it quiet at the same time?

If others have better ideas for Performance vs. Power Consumption, feel free to tell :)

Bartel
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Bartel » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:18 am

Hmm, I just realized that I maybe have put this topic in the wrong category.... and maybe it should have been posted under Motherboards and CPU :(

ilovejedd
Posts: 676
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:14 pm
Location: in the depths of hell

Post by ilovejedd » Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:49 am

Hmm don't really know if that alone would suffice. Try to see if you can find specifications for the power supply included with the case. Some of those barely put out any power on the 12V line.

Have you thought about switching to a different case? Perhaps the Antec ISK300/310-150?

JamieG
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by JamieG » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:43 pm

FWIW, my main system is under 60W at full load:

Intel E5200 @ 2.2Ghz and 1.0V
Thermalright HR-01 Plus with Scythe Slipstream 800rpm @ 5V
Gigabyte G31M-ES2L (mATX)
2 Gb stick of Kingston HyperX DDR2-800 RAM at default timings
PW-200V with 60W brick
OCZ Vertex 60Gb SSD (OS drive)

I suspect with your CPU and a bit of underclocking and undervolting you should be able to reach your goal - just make sure your mobo has good undervolting options.

Alternatively, you may want to look at the lowest power Clarksdale i3. Underclock and undervolt that a bit further if necessary and you should be able to fit within 60W.
My PCs:
Main PC (E5200, G31, Lian Li Q07) | Gaming PC (E6850, X38, 5870 Vapor-X, P182) | HTPC (4850e, 780G, 3450, NSK2480B)

ilovejedd
Posts: 676
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 4:14 pm
Location: in the depths of hell

Post by ilovejedd » Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:47 pm

JamieG wrote:OCZ Vertex 60Gb SSD (OS drive)
Actually, the most difficult part of the OP's set-up is spin up of the 3.5" drive (regardless if it's green) during boot. Western Digital's specification mentions a peak of 1.75A on the 12V rail which equates to ~21W. I'd peg that at 15W real-world but that's still quite a bit.

The OCZ Vertex 60GB uses considerably less power at 2W likely coming from the 5V rail.

Post Reply