Thermaltake 480W Butterfly

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

toonz

Thermaltake 480W Butterfly

Post by toonz » Wed Apr 21, 2004 3:19 pm

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this whole silent PC thing, and bought a Thermaltake 480W Butterfly PSU.

Now I do find this PSU fairly quiet, the only noise I can hear from it is the air flow through the vents at the back of the PSU. Is there anything I can do to try and stop this noise?

Post by 1398342003 » Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:23 pm

Get a cutting tool and cut that grill/slats out.

It's what I'd do.

SometimesWarrior
Patron of SPCR

Post by SometimesWarrior » Thu Apr 22, 2004 3:16 am

Hi toonz, welcome to SilentPCReview!

I checked Thermaltake's site, and it looks like the PSU is using wire grills for the fans. You can try removing these grills, but they are already pretty unrestrictive, so you're unlikely to get much of a noise improvement from this mod.

The only way to lower airflow noise further is to slow the fans more. If the supplied fan controller is already at minimum speed, you can either control the fan voltage manually, by taking the fan leads and feeding them a constant voltage (perhaps through a fan controller that doesn't ramp up with temperature), or by replacing the PSU fans with slower-running models.

Beware that, by further lowering the airflow in the PSU with a DIY mod, you could be endangering the stability or reliability of the PSU (and voiding the warranty, of course). If you choose to do this, you should monitor the temperature of the PSU exhaust with a thermal probe or your hand. You will probably need to duct cold air into the PSU to keep the exhaust temperatures reasonable, and account for the subsequent increase in case temperature (because you just eliminated an exhaust fan).