Running Smart Power 2.0 450 passive?

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

Post Reply
mattek
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 5:52 am
Location: Sweden

Running Smart Power 2.0 450 passive?

Post by mattek » Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:10 pm

Hi!

I got fairly powerhungry system featuring:

Sonata II
3700+
7800GTX
2xHDD
2GB RAM

Not once so far has the fans in my PSU started spinning, even after a four hour BF2 session.

I noticed a fan connector with black and blue cords coming out of the PSU, is this supposed to be connected?

I dont mind the extra quietness with the PSU sitting there passive, but is it dangerous?

/mattek
The Rig: Sonata II with removed duct, AMD3700 + Zalman, 2GB RAM, RAID-1 2x250GB Spinpoint + 200GB Spinpoint, 7800GTX + VF-700Cu, 2xADDA with FanMate.

Devonavar
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Post by Devonavar » Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:29 pm

The inner fan should be spinning. The outer fan won't turn on unless things get too hot. You've probably got good enough case cooling that the PSU isn't stressed.

If the inner fan ISN'T spinning, you have a problem. I would look into RMA. Your PSU won't like operating fanlessly in the long term...

Bluefront
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 5316
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: St Louis (county) Missouri USA

Post by Bluefront » Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:57 pm

That extra wire you see is meant to be connected to a MB fan header.....so you can read the PSU fan rpm. It doesn't carry any power....

That's how my TruePower 330 was anyway....read the documentation that came with your PSU.
[size=75]"At the core of liberalism is the spoiled child - miserable, as all spoiled children are, unsatisfied, demanding, ill disciplined, despotic, and useless. Liberalism is the philosophy of sniveling brats." - P.J. O'Rourke[/size]

flarkit
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: ZA

Post by flarkit » Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:25 am

BTW, wasn't there an issue, that connecting the blue/black RPM sensor wires would cause the fan to run at full speed? Or has Antec fixed this issue?
:?:
[b]PC Specs:[/b]
MSI 890FXA-GD70, PhenomII 965 rev C, Zalman CNPS10X Quiet, 2x2Gb OCZ DDR3-1600, MSI N460GTX Cyclone, 3x1Tb 7200.12, LG DVDRW, CM 690-II Plus, TY-140, 2x 120mm CM fans, CM GX550w, SB X-Fi

Devonavar
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 1850
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:23 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Post by Devonavar » Tue Nov 08, 2005 12:17 am

There was an issue, I did read that a newer revision had fixed it, but I never saw the new revision in person.

kruimeldief
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:48 pm

Post by kruimeldief » Wed Nov 09, 2005 12:11 am

I have bought an antec smartpower 2.0 on 21 octobre, but when I connect the sensor wire the does run at full speed. I still have the box/manual and such, so if you think there is more usefull info about the version there, I still can check it.

Post Reply