Fortron power supply with 120mm fan

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

rtree
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 8:16 pm
Location: Taiwan

Post by rtree » Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:02 pm

The Sparkle 300W model, has 18amps on the 12v line. The Fortron 300W, has 15 amps. So, what's the deal? I thought they were identical...
The FSP300 my brother has is the newer Purple colored one and the sticker on it says 18.0A on the +12V.

mathias
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 3:58 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Post by mathias » Wed Dec 01, 2004 6:19 pm

DG wrote:The Sparkle 300W model, has 18amps on the 12v line. The Fortron 300W, has 15 amps. So, what's the deal? I thought they were identical...
I'm pretty sure it's an update, the 350 watt sparkle I recently got has 18amps on the 12v line and besides that not much distinguishing it, except that the fan has only five blades, and some metal for attaching it to the top of the case if that's new. (It's regular gray)

smithy1210
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:59 am

Post by smithy1210 » Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:16 am

Hi,
I am going to buy a 300 or 350 watt fortron power supply. I found 2 websites that sell them in the UK and was wondering what model I should buy? I want the quieter version, which would be the non PF one?

These are the fortron psu's I have been looking at

http://www.microdirect.co.uk/productlis ... roupID=505

and also

on the www.komplett.co.uk website - if you type fortron into the search box it lists the models.

can u advise my which model to buy :?

Thanks

Katana Man
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 11:14 am

Post by Katana Man » Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:31 am

The most quiet versions would be the FSP300-60PN and FSP350-60PN models. The FSP300-60PN(PF) and FSP350-60PN(PF) are louder. I think in the UK that PF is required by law. Pages 3-5 of this thread talk about the PF version in more detail.
[size=75][url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=Sections&file=index&req=viewarticle&artid=78&page=1]Modified D8000[/url] w/ AcoustiPack using the [url=http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=8493]low air resistance, low fan speed, low noise technique[/url][/size]

smithy1210
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 8:59 am

Post by smithy1210 » Fri Dec 03, 2004 9:36 am

Thanks for the quick reply

PF required by law in the uk? :(

Are the fortron PF models still quiet psu's though?...just not as quiet as non PF?

BigDonut
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:56 am

Post by BigDonut » Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:40 pm

smithy did you get one in the end?
how was it?
I'm looking at FSP350-60THN-P on the microdirect list you linked to.

I'm trying to work out if its PF or not, I'm guessing it must be since its in the uk but it doesn't mention anything about it.
In fact i can't find any info on that particular model
actually i just have here

I'm guessing the -P signifies the PF thats required in the uk

hmm...it only has 15A on the 12V line though is that enough for a A643500+ system?

re reading it it has two 12V+ rails one 10A max the other 15A max. I guess the first is for the cpu and the 2nd is for all the others.
Now the question is whether this baby is queit or not?

Mr_Smartepants
Posts: 539
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:35 am
Location: Cambridgeshire, England

Post by Mr_Smartepants » Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:49 pm

BigDonut wrote: I'm looking at FSP350-60THN-P on the microdirect list you linked to.

I'm trying to work out if its PF or not,
If I had to guess, I'd guess that it is NOT Power Factor corrected. The reason being that most active power factor correction PSUs have a label over the 115/230VAC switch that says "Full Range". This one does not. Also the fact that the other PSUs listed say "(PF)" and this one doesn't.
[size=75][url=http://homepage.ntlworld.com/erik.hansen/files/pics/Sonata/index.htm]Sonata (foamed)Bezel mod[/url]
Seasonic S12-330, 2x120mm Yate Loon D12SL-12@1000RPM, P4-2.6C w/PAL8942 80mm L1A@10v, 1GB Mushkin DDR400, ATI 9800Pro 128MB w/ZM80A, Samsung SATA 160Gb
[/size]

Tephras
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:03 am
Location: Europe

Post by Tephras » Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:59 pm

BigDonut wrote:re reading it it has two 12V+ rails one 10A max the other 15A max. I guess the first is for the cpu and the 2nd is for all the others.
I believe it's the other way round. 12V2 for the CPU and 12V1 for the rest.

Tibors
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 2674
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe

Post by Tibors » Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:05 am

Mr_Smartepants wrote:If I had to guess, I'd guess that it is NOT Power Factor corrected. The reason being that most active power factor correction PSUs have a label over the 115/230VAC switch that says "Full Range". This one does not.
It is sold in the EU, so it is required by law to have at least passive PFC. The "Full Range" label is usually found on PSU's with active PFC.
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB

BigDonut
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:56 am

Post by BigDonut » Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:03 am

Tephras wrote:
BigDonut wrote:re reading it it has two 12V+ rails one 10A max the other 15A max. I guess the first is for the cpu and the 2nd is for all the others.
I believe it's the other way round. 12V2 for the CPU and 12V1 for the rest.
thanks.
i figured since only the cpu was one one rail it would be lower Amperage than all other devices but thinking about it, the CPU draws a fair amount of current so it would make sense to have the larger rating rail.

I'm guessing that 12A for the CPU
and 11A for the rest should be good enough for a high end system

Uwackme
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 9:53 pm

Adusting pots?

Post by Uwackme » Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:14 pm

Does anyone know if the new 500W Fotron Bluestorm has pots for adjusting the rails...3.3, 5, 12V? The nice thing about the 530W model was the seperate pots for rail adjustment.

Or is it like the Superflower 550, with no 3.3 pot, and a combined 5/12V pot?
165 Opty 2.65Mhz, 4x512M BH5 240Mhz
X1900XT 650/750 custom ghetto fan
2x36G Raptor raid0 250G ide NEC 16x DVD-rw
520W OCZ Powerstream, AMS CF1009 case

Uwackme
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 9:53 pm

bump

Post by Uwackme » Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:35 am

Anyone? You guys did a review, even looked inside at the fan.... anyone notice what the rail adjustment pot situation was like?
165 Opty 2.65Mhz, 4x512M BH5 240Mhz
X1900XT 650/750 custom ghetto fan
2x36G Raptor raid0 250G ide NEC 16x DVD-rw
520W OCZ Powerstream, AMS CF1009 case

Post Reply