New PSU for Antec NSK1300

PSUs: The source of DC power for all components in the PC & often a big noise source.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee, Devonavar

Post Reply
Merlinen
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Sweden

New PSU for Antec NSK1300

Post by Merlinen » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:41 pm

I did get a hold Antec NSK1300 case but the PSU inside it is broke.

So now i am looking for a new PSU that can fit in the same place as the old one or between the motherboard and the front panel of the case.

It need to power this setup:

Q9300@3.0
Gigabyte G41 motherboard
Ati 4850 or 4770
2x3.5" HDD's

I have found a new 350w PSU for the NSK1300 on eBay but with shipping from USA to Sweden +tax +custom it gets abit to much (100€++) :(

Any suggestions guys?? :)
Workstation : Core i7 2600k | Asus P8P67-m PRO | Asus DCII 7970 | 16GB Corsair 2000Mhz | 2x Intel 510 120GB + Samsung 830 | Corsair AX850 | TJ08-e Water Cooled |
Server : ESX 4.1 | Areca 1680+HP SAS Expander | 2x80gb Intel X25-m | 16x3TB Hitatchi | APC SMART-UPS 1500 |
HTPC : EeeBox + Boxee Box + another SFF pc.

reddyuday
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:47 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Post by reddyuday » Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:05 am

In my personal opinion, it is not worth getting a replacement proprietary PSU that wouldn't fit anywhere else but this case. I think a better option is to go the route of a DC-DC PSU. There is the proved and tested PicoPSU-150-XT + Dell DA-2 combination on which there is a lot of info on the forums. And, there is the new Winmate board that was reviewed recently by SPCR. You must check your power requirements first by getting a power meter, but they often are within the limits of one of these boards.

It involves a bit of research and work to put together one of these combinations, but you would have built yourself a PSU that can be transferred to other systems if need be, and you would have also freed up some very useful room at the top of the NSK1300 for putting on decent tower coolers on the CPU.

Uday
[size=75][b]Case:[/b] Antec NSK1380 / [b]PSU:[/b] PicoPSU-150-XT + Dell DA-2 / [b]Mobo:[/b] ASRock G43Twins-FullHD / [b]CPU:[/b] E6750 Core2 Duo @ 2.66GHz / [b]Cooler:[/b] Akasa Evo 120 + Scythe Kama PWM / [b]GPU:[/b] GeForce 6800GT / [b]RAM:[/b] 4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1600MHz / [b]Drive:[/b] Corsair X64 SSD / [b]Drive:[/b] Seagate Momentus 7200.4 2.5" HDD / [b]OS:[/b] Win XP Pro x64
[/size]

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:22 am

Merlinen
Take a look in here - Antec NSK1300 with PW-200-V DC-DC and Akasa Evo-120

reddyuday
IMHO, both Winmate board and usual PicoPSU won't do because of powerful videocard-CPU tandem. These two together will fry the PSU pretty good :) Maybe 200W power will be enough, but not 130-150. Rather risky setup for diet supplying via external brick.
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

Merlinen
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Merlinen » Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:25 am

Ye, both the Winmate board and usual PicoPSU is to week, the system take about 180-220w on full load.

Gona check out that topic.

Edit:
These two PSU i have looked at:

http://www.be-quiet.net/be-quiet.net/in ... iteLang=en

http://www.chieftec.eu/index.php?option ... 02&lang=EN

Both are cheep and might be abel to fit when i don't gona need any ODD.
Workstation : Core i7 2600k | Asus P8P67-m PRO | Asus DCII 7970 | 16GB Corsair 2000Mhz | 2x Intel 510 120GB + Samsung 830 | Corsair AX850 | TJ08-e Water Cooled |
Server : ESX 4.1 | Areca 1680+HP SAS Expander | 2x80gb Intel X25-m | 16x3TB Hitatchi | APC SMART-UPS 1500 |
HTPC : EeeBox + Boxee Box + another SFF pc.

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Wed Nov 04, 2009 3:06 am

This one is Delta OEM. We have it at a local store at about 35-40 US bucks. Hm, the datasheet claims efficiency greater that 70%... Not so attractive :?

It seems that Antec uses a non-standard form-factor. That PSU inside NSK1300 is not SFX, right?
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

Merlinen
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Merlinen » Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:29 am

Ye, antec use some special form factor, but the SFX is small enuff to fit insde the case and still enuff room for e decent CPU cooler.

From the back side to the HDD/ODD holder it is about ~120mm and this SFX is 100mm.

And SFX is 125mm wide and the orginial PSU is about 160mm.

So it shud fit easy.
Workstation : Core i7 2600k | Asus P8P67-m PRO | Asus DCII 7970 | 16GB Corsair 2000Mhz | 2x Intel 510 120GB + Samsung 830 | Corsair AX850 | TJ08-e Water Cooled |
Server : ESX 4.1 | Areca 1680+HP SAS Expander | 2x80gb Intel X25-m | 16x3TB Hitatchi | APC SMART-UPS 1500 |
HTPC : EeeBox + Boxee Box + another SFF pc.

reddyuday
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:47 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Post by reddyuday » Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:52 pm

Ksanderash wrote: IMHO, both Winmate board and usual PicoPSU won't do because of powerful videocard-CPU tandem. These two together will fry the PSU pretty good :) Maybe 200W power will be enough, but not 130-150. Rather risky setup for diet supplying via external brick.
Many of us found that PW-200-V couldn't power configurations that PicoPSU-150-XT was able to. So I don't recommend PW-200 any more. PicoPSU-150 is said to be a 200W power supply in reality, but is rated at 150W for thermal reasons. So it seems able to support the peak power draws fine.

Many of us use Ryboto's method of passing only the motherboard's power through the PicoPSU, and providing power to the CPU and the GPU directly from the external power brick (through the P4 and PCI-E connectors). That further reduces the load on the PicoPSU, and one can configure more powerful systems in this way.

For more information, see the threads "Dell DA-2 power brick help" and "Mating Dell DA-2 and Pico power supplies".

[The Winmate, on the other hand, doesn't seem suitable for this kind of an operation, because the external power source in its case is an 18V power supply (at a minimum), unlike the Pico's 12V power source. So it is not possible to divert some of the power from the external power source to the P4 and PCI-E connectors.]
Merlinen wrote: Ye, both the Winmate board and usual PicoPSU is to week, the system take about 180-220w on full load.
If you have observed 220W power draw from the wall and your PSU is 80% efficient (the current standard for good PSU's), then your system was drawing only a maximum of 176W. So that is well within the capacity of Dell DA-2.

Uday
[size=75][b]Case:[/b] Antec NSK1380 / [b]PSU:[/b] PicoPSU-150-XT + Dell DA-2 / [b]Mobo:[/b] ASRock G43Twins-FullHD / [b]CPU:[/b] E6750 Core2 Duo @ 2.66GHz / [b]Cooler:[/b] Akasa Evo 120 + Scythe Kama PWM / [b]GPU:[/b] GeForce 6800GT / [b]RAM:[/b] 4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1600MHz / [b]Drive:[/b] Corsair X64 SSD / [b]Drive:[/b] Seagate Momentus 7200.4 2.5" HDD / [b]OS:[/b] Win XP Pro x64
[/size]

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:49 am

reddyuday wrote:Many of us found that PW-200-V couldn't power configurations that PicoPSU-150-XT was able to.
Hm, the reputable manufacturer declares wrong figures for the admissable load? I believe not :P If the configuration is under 200W it should stand up (PW-200).

Though I hold in high respect your experience with picoPSU-s...
Last edited by Ksanderash on Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

Merlinen
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Merlinen » Thu Nov 05, 2009 12:56 am

reddyuday wrote: If you have observed 220W power draw from the wall and your PSU is 80% efficient (the current standard for good PSU's), then your system was drawing only a maximum of 176W. So that is well within the capacity of Dell DA-2.

Uday
I did test on a PSU that is 80+ Gold (90%) and at the wall i did show about 220-250w, and that shud be about 198-225w PSU load.

What is the Dell DA-2 rated for ? don't whant to be to close to max load.
Workstation : Core i7 2600k | Asus P8P67-m PRO | Asus DCII 7970 | 16GB Corsair 2000Mhz | 2x Intel 510 120GB + Samsung 830 | Corsair AX850 | TJ08-e Water Cooled |
Server : ESX 4.1 | Areca 1680+HP SAS Expander | 2x80gb Intel X25-m | 16x3TB Hitatchi | APC SMART-UPS 1500 |
HTPC : EeeBox + Boxee Box + another SFF pc.

reddyuday
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:47 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Post by reddyuday » Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:35 am

Ksanderash wrote:Hm, the reputable manufacturer declares wrong figures for the admissable load?
Well, you have to draw your own conclusions I suppose. Three of us, Ryboto, Eddie666 and I, have reported that PW-200 didn't work with configurations whereas PicoPSU-150-XT worked. Ryboto even had PicoPSU-120 work for his configuration. The details are in the threads I cited.
Merlinen wrote: What is the Dell DA-2 rated for ? don't whant to be to close to max load.
The rated power is 220W. It looks like your system is close to maxing it out, which is not ideal. There is of course the option of using two DA-2's, but you would be running up costs and it may not be cost effective compraed to the alternatives. In any case, there is the option in case you can't get a right SFX PSU that works for you.

Uday
[size=75][b]Case:[/b] Antec NSK1380 / [b]PSU:[/b] PicoPSU-150-XT + Dell DA-2 / [b]Mobo:[/b] ASRock G43Twins-FullHD / [b]CPU:[/b] E6750 Core2 Duo @ 2.66GHz / [b]Cooler:[/b] Akasa Evo 120 + Scythe Kama PWM / [b]GPU:[/b] GeForce 6800GT / [b]RAM:[/b] 4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1600MHz / [b]Drive:[/b] Corsair X64 SSD / [b]Drive:[/b] Seagate Momentus 7200.4 2.5" HDD / [b]OS:[/b] Win XP Pro x64
[/size]

Merlinen
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Merlinen » Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:05 am

Ye if it is rated 220w it's abit to close :/

Think i am gona try the "Chieftec DPS-300AB-9C 300W" can get it for less than 40€ inc shipping.
Workstation : Core i7 2600k | Asus P8P67-m PRO | Asus DCII 7970 | 16GB Corsair 2000Mhz | 2x Intel 510 120GB + Samsung 830 | Corsair AX850 | TJ08-e Water Cooled |
Server : ESX 4.1 | Areca 1680+HP SAS Expander | 2x80gb Intel X25-m | 16x3TB Hitatchi | APC SMART-UPS 1500 |
HTPC : EeeBox + Boxee Box + another SFF pc.

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Thu Nov 05, 2009 3:05 pm

Merlinen wrote:Ye if it is rated 220w it's abit to close :/

Think i am gona try the "Chieftec DPS-300AB-9C 300W" can get it for less than 40€ inc shipping.
Share the experience with us, please, if you get this.
reddyuday wrote:Well, you have to draw your own conclusions I suppose. Three of us, Ryboto, Eddie666 and I, have reported that PW-200 didn't work with configurations whereas PicoPSU-150-XT worked.
I saw that thread. Can't believe that PW-200 is so lousy :? Shame on engineering crew!
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

JamieG
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by JamieG » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:14 pm

Ksanderash wrote:Can't believe that PW-200 is so lousy :? Shame on engineering crew!
Well, I'm happy with my PW-200. However, I'm using it with a 60W brick and a barrel-type connector, instead of the larger wattage bricks with different connectors. Still, it is disappointing that the PW-200 doesn't work with bricks that can supply 200W of power.
My PCs:
Main PC (E5200, G31, Lian Li Q07) | Gaming PC (E6850, X38, 5870 Vapor-X, P182) | HTPC (4850e, 780G, 3450, NSK2480B)

Post Reply