Hard Drive Switch

Silencing hard drives, optical drives and other storage devices

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Kalel83
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 8:56 pm
Location: Arcata, Ca

Hard Drive Switch

Post by Kalel83 » Sun May 09, 2004 3:52 pm

Anyone here reccomend a device used to swap between ata 133 hard drives (for multiple os use). At least 2 drives, more could be interesting (but not required). Prefably one with a switch that you mount on the case that could be modded (as apposed to one that takes up a whole 5.25 inch drive bay.. which would be bad).

Any certain ones rate higher then others. how does this affect hard drive performace (like for instance that myth that cables should be n longer then waht, 8 inches?)

Building a coustom case and want all the milage i can muster.

thanks
-Paul

fmah
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by fmah » Sun May 09, 2004 3:55 pm

I suppose you could just wire up a switch that would kill the power on one drive and leave the other one up, and vice versa. That way the computer would only see one drive. This will work if your motherboard will boot of the drive that it sees (as opposed to only being able to boot off a particular drive). Just don't accidentally hit the switch while the computer is on, that could be ugly.

Kalel83
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 8:56 pm
Location: Arcata, Ca

Post by Kalel83 » Sun May 09, 2004 4:17 pm

that's a good idea.... and yes, that would be ugly

Kalel83
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 8:56 pm
Location: Arcata, Ca

Post by Kalel83 » Sun May 09, 2004 4:35 pm

An even better idea, found on newegg

NickLock Drive selector
http://hardware.meetthegeeks.org/ourrev ... anicklock/

uses the master pins on a hard drive

only 10 bucks!

Ralf Hutter
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 8636
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 6:33 am
Location: Sunny SoCal

Post by Ralf Hutter » Mon May 10, 2004 5:03 am

Romtec Trios. I've used it and it works great. Takes up no internal space other than a PCI slot, and that's just to hold a splitter card in place, you could zip-tie the card anywhere in the case if you don't have a free PCI slot available. It's user controller is a small touch-pad on a 3' cord that is external to the case.

Oli
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 3:50 am

Post by Oli » Tue May 11, 2004 4:11 am

I no longer require the previously metioned produced - ROMTEC TRIOS - I can sell it if you are in the UK - would save you a fair packet as its pricey to get it in from the US. I would highly reccomend the product, especially since it has a fool proof design (cannot change while switched on)

Post Reply