Noisy, vibrating Seagate 7200.9 250GB in Antec SLK3000B

Silencing hard drives, optical drives and other storage devices

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

yjs

Noisy, vibrating Seagate 7200.9 250GB in Antec SLK3000B

Post by yjs » Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:21 pm

Hi, I'm a big newb here.

Now onto business, I built a new system a few weeks ago and chose components that were known to be pretty quiet. However I was rather disappointed with the level of noise the vibration of the Seagate drive was making in the Antec SLK3000B case; it seems the rubber gromets don't do a thing. I've lived with it in the past few weeks because I was rather busy with exams but now I have some spare time.

I've run SeaTools diagnostics and the drive has passed the tests. The drive is pretty loud by itself unmounted although not near the level of noise it and the case makes when it's doing some intense seeking. What do you guys suggest? Is the case at fault or is it an abnormally noisy drive?

Thanks in advance.

jhhoffma

Post by jhhoffma » Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:43 am

Use the search feature on suspension for SLK3000Bs. There are many people here that have suspended hard drives in this case. It's VERY easy to do.

I removed the HDD cage and used a set (4) of very small bungee cords from Home Depot (with foam to cushion the hooks), some speaker wire tacks (clips with a nail in them to nail to wall trim). I drilled out the hole to accomodate the HDD screws from the SLK3000B and used them anchor the drive to the bungie cords, which were hung top to bottom.

See this thread for reference: http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewto ... highlight=

Beel

Post by Beel » Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:33 am