WD5000AADS: where in the world is Caviar Sandiego?

Silencing hard drives, optical drives and other storage devices

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

WD5000AADS: where in the world is Caviar Sandiego?

Post by _MarcoM_ » Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:52 am

Look folks:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=607

I assume this is the new GP with 500GB plates, but I can not find it in my country. There are no reviews, too. :(

Need more infos about performance of this puppy :roll:

dhanson865
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Location: TN, USA

Post by dhanson865 » Tue Jun 02, 2009 11:39 am

http://www.wdc.com/en/library/sata/2879-701229.pdf the specs PDF still doesn't list the model yet. Until you see WD5000AADS in the spec sheet it might be hard to find in some locations.

Here in the US I see plenty of vendors with 10-15 units in stock selling it around $60.
.
Please put a country in your profile if you haven't already.
This site is international but I'll assume you are in the US if you don't tell me otherwise.
RAID levels thread http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=388987

line
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:07 pm
Location: Israel

Post by line » Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:10 pm

It's a single platter drive, possibly the lowest power 3.5" drive out there.

line
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:07 pm
Location: Israel

Post by line » Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:45 pm

Guess now is the turn for the 1 TB capacity point. Akiba reports that WD10EADS, originally a 3 x 333 GB drive, quietly transitions to a 2 x 500 GB platform.

http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/akiba/ho ... cwd1t.html

Image

^ The new revision.

Image

^ Up close. The new sub model is 00M2B0 (old is 00L5B1). Shopping for it will be difficult because retailers do not list sub models.

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

Post by _MarcoM_ » Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:48 pm

You're a good detective, line :wink:
If only we can have benchmarks, especially access time... :roll:

Kreed
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 3:48 am
Location: Australia

Post by Kreed » Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:44 am

Is WD going to release a single platter 500GB Caviar Blue?

angelkiller
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:37 am
Location: North Carolina

Post by angelkiller » Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:22 am

Kreed wrote:Is WD going to release a single platter 500GB Caviar Blue?
Maybe. But the 500GB Caviar Black now uses a single platter. But its only the WD5001AALS-00L3B2 variant.

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

Post by _MarcoM_ » Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:01 pm

@ dhanson865

Now the WD5000AADS is in the spec sheet :)

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Sun Jun 14, 2009 1:43 pm

A man has bought new WD10EADS-00M2B0. HD Tune:

Image
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

JVM
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: USA

Post by JVM » Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:24 am

angelkiller wrote:
Kreed wrote:Is WD going to release a single platter 500GB Caviar Blue?
Maybe. But the 500GB Caviar Black now uses a single platter. But its only the WD5001AALS-00L3B2 variant.
Where did you get the information the 500GB Black uses a single platter?
Antec Solo, Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Gigabyte EX38-DS4, G.Skill RAM(8GB), Ninja Plus, ECS 9600 GT, SB Audigy Fx, Enermax MODU82+ 625W, (2)Intel (SSD) X25-M G2 160GB, Intel SSD 180GB, Scythe Slipstream "L" rear, Nexus 92mm front, Samsung SH-224FB SATA DVD, HP LP1965 19" LCD, Windows 10 64-bit, CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD UPS

FartingBob
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 744
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:05 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by FartingBob » Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:33 am

Hmm, now i get to play the "which version with notably different specs but annoyingly identical model numbers" game again next time i get a new HDD!
I can see why WD do this (its not just them, but usually is) to get rid of the older generation gradually, but it sure is a pain for those buying, especially since no online retailer i know of posts the full model or is willing to guarantee i get the newer one.
I have no signature!

dhanson865
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Location: TN, USA

Post by dhanson865 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 12:03 pm

Well since WD5000AADS is in the spec sheet and it wasn't before I might assume that there is no two platter version of this drive.

Unfortunately I don't trust WDC that much so the safest way to get the one platter 500GB drive I know of is to get the Samsung F2 EcoGreen HD502HI instead. Besides it's cheaper.
.
Please put a country in your profile if you haven't already.
This site is international but I'll assume you are in the US if you don't tell me otherwise.
RAID levels thread http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=388987

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Wed Jun 17, 2009 12:57 am

angelkiller wrote:the 500GB Caviar Black now uses a single platter
That's wrong assumption, you were misinformed. Nor WD, Seagate, Hitachi, nor Samsung don't have at the present moment the 500Gb 7200rpm drive on a 1 platter.
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

ekerazha
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by ekerazha » Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:25 am

angelkiller wrote: Maybe. But the 500GB Caviar Black now uses a single platter. But its only the WD5001AALS-00L3B2 variant.
Where did you get this info? A single-platter Caviar Black would be nice.
Last edited by ekerazha on Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

ekerazha
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 10:42 am
Location: Italy

Post by ekerazha » Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:26 am

Ksanderash wrote:
angelkiller wrote:the 500GB Caviar Black now uses a single platter
That's wrong assumption, you were misinformed. Nor WD, Seagate, Hitachi, nor Samsung don't have at the present moment the 500Gb 7200rpm drive on a 1 platter.
Seagate 7200.12 500 GB should be single-platter.

SleepyBum
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:48 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Post by SleepyBum » Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:06 pm

Newegg has this HD available now, they also have a 10% off coupon right now, so the price come to $57.99 - 10% = 52.19.

Western Digital Caviar Green WD5000AADS 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:56 am

ekerazha wrote:
Ksanderash wrote:
angelkiller wrote:the 500GB Caviar Black now uses a single platter
That's wrong assumption, you were misinformed. Nor WD, Seagate, Hitachi, nor Samsung don't have at the present moment the 500Gb 7200rpm drive on a 1 platter.
Seagate 7200.12 500 GB should be single-platter.
Ah, yeah, you're right. It was said too categorical ;) Of course, 7200.12 series.
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

Post by _MarcoM_ » Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:25 pm

I have the opportunity to buy the HD502HI (Samsung Ecogreen F2) or the new WD5000AADS.
Which one to buy? To decide, desperately need a review on the WD :lol:

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:05 pm

_MarcoM_
The WD5000AADS of course! You'll be the first owner here! Can you imagine this splendour?! ;)
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

Post by _MarcoM_ » Sat Jun 20, 2009 3:23 pm

Ksanderash wrote:_MarcoM_
The WD5000AADS of course! You'll be the first owner here! Can you imagine this splendour?! ;)
Ahahah it's true! :lol: :wink:

bgiddins
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:04 am
Location: Australia

808GB version of this drive

Post by bgiddins » Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:12 pm

There's a new drive as well:

Western Digital Green 808GB WD8088AADS

It's not in the list on the WD website, but searching for it found a page:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=613

I note that the AADS (<1TB) models have Read/Write|Idle specs of 6.0/3.7W, as opposed to the EADS models with 5.4/2.8W.

Kind of makes me wonder what's the point of an 808GB drive - the funny size alone might be enough to put some consumers off.
[size=75][b]Server:[/b] Antec 300|Corsair VX450|Intel Q9550 E0|Asus P5Q-VM|8GB Kingston DDR2-800|Xigmatek HDT-S1283|1xWD3000GLFS|4xWD10EADS[/size]

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

Re: 808GB version of this drive

Post by _MarcoM_ » Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:44 pm

bgiddins wrote:There's a new drive as well:

Western Digital Green 808GB WD8088AADS

It's not in the list on the WD website, but searching for it found a page:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=613

I note that the AADS (<1TB) models have Read/Write|Idle specs of 6.0/3.7W, as opposed to the EADS models with 5.4/2.8W.
Perhaps these new one-platter-disks spins at higher rpm than EADS or AACS... I need urgently a review. Seriously :roll:

LodeHacker
Posts: 628
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:25 pm
Location: Finland

Re: 808GB version of this drive

Post by LodeHacker » Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:46 pm

_MarcoM_ wrote:Perhaps these new one-platter-disks spins at higher rpm than EADS or AACS... I need urgently a review. Seriously :roll:
Can't you please adopt the new WD and make us a review or keep it a secret for you and laugh at us for having no information when you realize that you have the quietest and fastest HDD in your hands :mrgreen:
[size=75][i]Fight spam! [url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=54326][color=darkblue]The Official Anti-Spam Thread[/color][/url].
Have a nice day.[/i][/size]

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Re: 808GB version of this drive

Post by Ksanderash » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:02 am

_MarcoM_ wrote:Perhaps these new one-platter-disks spins at higher rpm than EADS or AACS... I need urgently a review. Seriously :roll:
You're an incorrigible optimist. And I think WD8088AADS is made on the base of defective EADS platters, having thus max ~75-80Mb/sec at the beginning ;)
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

_MarcoM_
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am

Post by _MarcoM_ » Tue Jun 23, 2009 10:26 pm

Bad news my friends, just checked my local store, i had to wait almost one month to buy this puppy :(

Hell, and no review on internet, except this stupid one on newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductRe ... 6822136358

"Pros: Good, and Fast 32MB cache. I own other WD HDs --250GB 16MB cache and 320GB 8MB cache. ALL is Good.
Cons: no
Other Thoughts: When I order it, I know it is not the ratail HD. But it is good and Green."
:|

Tech Level of the owner: high :shock:
Shame on you! :lol:

Ksanderash
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Location: Moldova, exUSSR

Post by Ksanderash » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:20 pm

Another crappy review by the owner:

I just bought a 500GB Green, WD5000AADS (32MB cache). Here are the results I got in HDTune 2.55 on Vista HP SP2:

Min: 37.7MB/s
Max: 91.3MB/s
Avg: 70.5MB/s

Access: 15.9ms
Burst: 121.7Mb/s
CPU Usage: 7.7%


http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... #r19647358
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W

line
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 10:07 pm
Location: Israel

Post by line » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:50 pm

91MB/s max doesn't make sense for this drive, it should be over 100.

JVM
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: USA

Post by JVM » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:03 am

Access: 15.9ms looks a bit slow to me.
Antec Solo, Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Gigabyte EX38-DS4, G.Skill RAM(8GB), Ninja Plus, ECS 9600 GT, SB Audigy Fx, Enermax MODU82+ 625W, (2)Intel (SSD) X25-M G2 160GB, Intel SSD 180GB, Scythe Slipstream "L" rear, Nexus 92mm front, Samsung SH-224FB SATA DVD, HP LP1965 19" LCD, Windows 10 64-bit, CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD UPS

dhanson865
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Location: TN, USA

Post by dhanson865 » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:32 am

JVM wrote:Access: 15.9ms looks a bit slow to me.
I'm assuming you mean it looks slower than the 14.x shown in the screenshot higher in the thread.

AAM settings affect access time. Depending on the batch of drives the default setting may be different and some motherboard BIOSes set AAM on boot.

Either way BIOS or Hitachi Feature Tool you can change the access time of your drive.

Oh and don't forget to short stroke if you don't need all that capacity.
.
Please put a country in your profile if you haven't already.
This site is international but I'll assume you are in the US if you don't tell me otherwise.
RAID levels thread http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=388987

JVM
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 1503
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: USA

Post by JVM » Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:42 am

dhanson865 wrote:
JVM wrote:Access: 15.9ms looks a bit slow to me.
I'm assuming you mean it looks slower than the 14.x shown in the screenshot higher in the thread.

AAM settings affect access time. Depending on the batch of drives the default setting may be different and some motherboard BIOSes set AAM on boot.

Either way BIOS or Hitachi Feature Tool you can change the access time of your drive.

Oh and don't forget to short stroke if you don't need all that capacity.
What does short stroke do, how do you do it, and does it have any negative effect on the drive?
Antec Solo, Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, Gigabyte EX38-DS4, G.Skill RAM(8GB), Ninja Plus, ECS 9600 GT, SB Audigy Fx, Enermax MODU82+ 625W, (2)Intel (SSD) X25-M G2 160GB, Intel SSD 180GB, Scythe Slipstream "L" rear, Nexus 92mm front, Samsung SH-224FB SATA DVD, HP LP1965 19" LCD, Windows 10 64-bit, CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD UPS

Post Reply