How "safe" is a Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu on a socket A

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
mshan
Posts: 413
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 2:26 pm

How "safe" is a Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu on a socket A

Post by mshan » Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:14 am

"A high mass heatsink stresses a motherboard during installation and in normal use (in a tower style case) much more than lighter ones, and it does not take that much flexing to damage a multi-layer motherboard. This is especially true for socket 478 with either the 7700-Cu or 7000-Cu, which use the stock plastic HS retention frame and put high stress on the four holes in that frame."
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article209-page1.html


I have an Asus A7N8X v2 Deluxe and just purchased a Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu.


How robust is the mounting system / motherboard of a socket A mobo such as the Asus A7N8X v2? (I eventually want to upgrade to Athlon 64, so what about socket 754/939 also?)

burcakb
Posts: 1443
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:05 am
Location: Turkey

Post by burcakb » Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:48 am

Socket A version has 4 standoffs that go right through the motherboard. Athlon64 flavors have a metal backplate behind the mobo. In all cases, the weight is distributed over a large area and all torque is applied on metal parts. MUCH safer feeling than trusting 700+gr of copper to a piece of plastic.

Running my 7000 - Cu on my socket A for the last year? or so with no problems, no "bending" I can detect. 7700-Cu is a different story though. 1 kg is way too much to trust to two screws IMO.
[size=75][url=http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=17474]Thor's Hammer[/url]
Loki's Magic: Coming soon...
[url=http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=19771]Odin's Chariot[/url][/size]

MikeC
Site Admin
Posts: 12283
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by MikeC » Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:06 am

burcakb wrote:Socket A version has 4 standoffs that go right through the motherboard.
This is true, but no way is their hardware anywhere close to the level found on Alpha or Swiftech (older) spring loaded 4-bolt systems. I am not too keen on the socket-A hardware for the 7000 series. It would have been better with either more robust bolts/nuts. or a custom backplate.

But then you have burcakb's hands-on experience. I only mounted a 7000 on a socket-A once -- for testing -- then promptly removed it. It gave me the willies.... but then I've done way too many HS installs / removals and you can't help develop strong likes / dislikes / instincts that may not be universally valid.
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through this link: Amazon

j-azn
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 1:09 pm

Post by j-azn » Sun Jan 09, 2005 2:27 pm

I have the A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo along with a Athlon XP 2800+. I am planning to purchase a 7000CU to replace my Tt Volcano9. From reading this threat, it seems that mounting the 7000CU on my socket could cause some risks eh?.

What are the risks? Is it likely to happen? Would it still be recommended to mount the HSF on the CPU with the potential of stressing the mobo too mucH?

Thx, jazn

hmai18
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:21 pm

Post by hmai18 » Thu Jan 13, 2005 6:55 pm

According to SPCR's own review http://www.silentpcreview.com/article92-page3.html, there isn't much of a difference in temps between the pure Cu and AlCu versions. I have the AlCu on an overclocked Barton 2500+ (200x11) with arctic silver 5 and it idles in the mid thirties, topping out at mid fourties under heavy load.

I'd say just go for the AlCu and save yourself a few dollars and the worry of wrecking your mobo.

Elixer
Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 10:31 am
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Contact:

Re: How "safe" is a Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu on a socke

Post by Elixer » Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:08 pm

mshan wrote:"A high mass heatsink stresses a motherboard during installation and in normal use (in a tower style case) much more than lighter ones, and it does not take that much flexing to damage a multi-layer motherboard. This is especially true for socket 478 with either the 7700-Cu or 7000-Cu, which use the stock plastic HS retention frame and put high stress on the four holes in that frame."
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article209-page1.html


I have an Asus A7N8X v2 Deluxe and just purchased a Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu.


How robust is the mounting system / motherboard of a socket A mobo such as the Asus A7N8X v2? (I eventually want to upgrade to Athlon 64, so what about socket 754/939 also?)
All I can say is that I have a 7000AlCu mounted to my Athlon Mobile and my computer got knocked off my desk by a violent wasted guy (at 3 am the night before a big final for me) and fell 3 and half feet slamming to the ground and I didn't even have to remount my heatsink. Computer still works great, in fact I'm typing to you on it. If that doesn't give reassurance about the security of Zalman's mounting system for the 7000Cu and AlCu I don't know what will. My motherboard is a Shuttle AN35N.

NigthStalker
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:36 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Post by NigthStalker » Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:59 pm

3 feet fall , what side did it land on ? Got real lucky the heatsink + CPU + Socket + part of the moto didn't rip off , what is it again ? 770 g ?
When installing drop it into place and don't apply more pressure than needed , the 770 g will give nuf pressure , and don't move your case , but if you need to , be very carefull ; it's better to take 30 secs removing HS than haveing to buy a new CPU array and moto , and it's quicker...
[size=75][color=blue]~AMD XP 2000 + Zalman 7000B|| 1Gb DDR133/400 || Sapphire RADEON 9600 Atlantis 128mb || Maxtor 160Gb 8MB / Maxtor 40Gb 8MB || SB Audigy 5.1 || 2xLG CD-RW || 3 Fans W/Blue Leds || LCD Panel || Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound System~[/color][/size]

Project
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 9:24 pm

Post by Project » Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:39 pm

get the alcu, i was like u in the beginning worried bout the heavy weight. but it wasnt that bad. I did some test tugs horizontally and vertically and seems pretty good. If i were id only worry bout bolting the mobo onto it correctly and when moving the comp. other than that, when i installed my alcu on your same mobo, all was well got 42 idle and 45 max temps

chylld
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 4:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by chylld » Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:54 pm

i used to have a 7000a-cu mounted onto my socket a, had no problems whatsoever. didn't feel insecure at all, my case toppled a few times too (i was careless) and my computer still works (and like Elixer, i'm typing to you on it).

i don't use that hsf anymore though since i've moved to watercooling, but i gave it to a friend who mounted it on his socket a and he has had no problems whatsoever either.

lm
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1251
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:14 am
Location: Finland

Post by lm » Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:31 am

7000A-AlCu on barton 2800+ on a7n8x deluxe v2.0 for over one year.

No problems whatsoever, temps are also good. The HS sits really securely on the mobo imho. Go for the Alcu!

Alcu weights 445g vs Cu sth like 700g, and performance should be the same.

NigthStalker
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:36 pm
Location: Montreal, QC

Post by NigthStalker » Sat Jan 15, 2005 8:18 pm

Well , im getting the 7000B AlCu , and when i was at the shop , i weighted the 7700 Cu and it seemed heavy like a hdd , even more , happy i got the AlCu edition :P , finally upgrading , just wait till they reveive my order... im soo impatient to recieve the phone call...
[size=75][color=blue]~AMD XP 2000 + Zalman 7000B|| 1Gb DDR133/400 || Sapphire RADEON 9600 Atlantis 128mb || Maxtor 160Gb 8MB / Maxtor 40Gb 8MB || SB Audigy 5.1 || 2xLG CD-RW || 3 Fans W/Blue Leds || LCD Panel || Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Sound System~[/color][/size]

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Thu Jan 27, 2005 1:44 am

Hi. I have a Soltek SL-KT600-R motherboard, would the Zalman 7000B fit? Zalman's listonly has the KT400 :? I guess not :(
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

Jan Kivar
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1310
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 4:37 am
Location: Finland

Post by Jan Kivar » Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:38 am

rpsgc wrote:Hi. I have a Soltek SL-KT600-R motherboard, would the Zalman 7000B fit? Zalman's listonly has the KT400 :? I guess not :(
There aren't any holes around the socket on that motherboard, so it's incompatible with 7000-series.

Cheers,

Jan
[size=75]E6600 (2GHz@1,163V, 3GHz@1,237V), Ninja rev. B, AB9 Pro, 4x1 GB Corsair (CM2X1024-6400), MSI 7600GS, Samsung HD501LJ/HD401LJ/SP2504C, Plextor PX760SA, Seasonic S12-430, Nexus Fans, Antec Solo, ViewSonic VP201b[/size]

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1630
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:59 am
Location: Portugal

Post by rpsgc » Thu Jan 27, 2005 11:04 am

Oh well, that was what I was afraid of. I guess I'll buy a Thermalright ALX-800 with a Noiseblocker S1
Fractal Define R4 | Corsair AX750 | MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Intel Core i7 4770K w/TRUE 120 Rev. C | 16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 | Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 8GB OC | Crucial m4 128GB + Crucial MX100 512GB + WD Blue 1TB + WD Red 4TB | JVC HA-RX900 | Dell U2312HM + BenQ G2400WD | Asus Echelon Mechanical Keyboard | Logitech G400s

Post Reply