AMD 64 Mobile?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

AMD 64 Mobile?

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 8:33 am

Hi.. anyone know where to buy AMD 64 mobile CPUs? i've tried searching google etc and havnt found Anything. I'd really like to buy Turion other 754 pin mobiles will be good too.

do all mobiles not have a heatspreader? so its hard to attach a heatsink like xp-120 ?

also, UK mobile cpu retailers would be best..

Thanks.

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 8:47 am

cpucity.co.uk

I assume you already have a S754 mobo? If so, then make sure it will work with mobile CPU's, there are certainly not many that will do that!!!
Sempron are available in 90 nm versions, good prices and better compatibility and availability.

If not then go for S939 instead and save yourself a lot of trouble.

In any case, make sure that the CPU is made in 90 nm process (D or E stepping), this roughly cuts the power usage in half!
Last edited by Mats on Wed May 25, 2005 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 8:57 am

turion is "pre-order" :[[

how about places that sell the other amd 64 mobiles, not turion ?

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 9:02 am

What mobo do you have? Or will you use it in a notebook?

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 9:10 am

DFI LanParty UT nF3 250Gb (Socket 754) Motherboard

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 9:12 am

perplex wrote:DFI LanParty UT nF3 250Gb (Socket 754) Motherboard
Ok, one of the best in other words! 8)
What are you planning to do? Gaming, undervolting, overclocking?
Turions are low power, but no the best overclockers. Mobile A64E "Newark" are better in overclocking, but I really don't think they're much hotter than Turion though.

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 9:22 am

no gaming at all. 2D only ;] ... the basic stuff like web browsing, listening to music on computer.

yeh, i'm checking out forums and running a search for things like "newark" and trying to see if anyone mentions where they can be bought :]

i hope to undervolt and run the cpu passive with xp-120

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 9:36 am

Newark is actually newer than Turion, so it might still be hard to find.
If your UK fellas can't help you out you can check out itbutikken.co.uk , it is a Danish site so you have to pay £20 for the shipping, not good. :(

I suggest you contact CPUCity and ask them how long it will take to get it.
You should also ask them what model it is, looks confusing...
AMD Athlon 64 3400 Turion (Mobile) skt 754 1Mb Cache
[turion 3700]
I know Frostedflakes in this forum had some troubles with having more than one RAM module inserted when using a Turion (before he sold it).

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 10:11 am

ok thanks for the info :]

754 is single channel only

well i'm going to get the computer around October anyway, so maybe there will be lots of Newarks and Turions floating around by then :D
Last edited by perplex on Wed May 25, 2005 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 10:13 am

perplex wrote:754 is single channel only
yes it is.

autoboy
Posts: 1008
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 8:10 pm
Location: San Jose, California

Post by autoboy » Wed May 25, 2005 10:27 am

Check out the 90nm semprons. They are very cheap, pretty fast especially for what you want to do, and they are great undervolters. they run stock at 1.4V and hardly put out any heat at all. I didn't even need to undervolt mine like i had planned. i'm sure you could get the Thermals down to 20W easy and run it passive. There are also some very good passive heatsinks by scythe as well that would work great on the sempron. Only thing is the sempron is so cheap you almost spend more on the xp-120

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 10:31 am

yeh i was thinking sempron 90nm also, but isnt the maximum power rating 69W or something? compared to 25-35W for the Turion.

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 10:47 am

perplex wrote:yeh i was thinking sempron 90nm also, but isnt the maximum power rating 69W or something? compared to 25-35W for the Turion.
Yeah, but it's totally wrong. Lostcircuits concluded that a 90 nm 3800+ (2.4 GHz) maxed out at 31 W, and the 130 nm counterpart 64 W.
If running a 90 nm Sempron at 1.8 GHz and 1.3 V you get 20 W.

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 10:55 am

About Sempron, some have 128 kB L2 cache and some 256 kB. This have very little effect on performace, especially if you're not gaming. Speed is more important. The most low speed doesn't have Cool 'n' Quiet, they're totally locked. Only Sempron 3100+ and 3000+ are available as both 130 nm and 90 nm, watch out.

www.amdcompare.com

frostedflakes
Posts: 1608
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: United States

Post by frostedflakes » Wed May 25, 2005 10:58 am

If you're interested in Turion64, I am selling mine.

I was able to use 2x512mb with Turion64 in a DFI Lanparty UT nF3 250Gb (4/15 BIOS). For whatever reason, though, I had to have the memory in slots one and two - any other configuration wouldn't work at DDR400 1T.

The processor is not a great overclock, but for low-power, low-heat, and low-noise applications, they can't be beat. Keep in mind that their 25w TDP is at maximum die temp, which is 95*C for the Athlon64 mobiles! In a desktop environment, where the processor likely won't break 40*C, and at lower temperatures, power consumption will be significantly less. Not to mention the processor can undervolt to 1.1v stable. I wouldn't surprised if at 1.8GHz 1.1v the processor consumes 10-15w in a desktop environment.

Anyways, email me if you're interested. Shipping to the U.K. shouldn't be more than $10.

adam.frakes AT gmail DOT com
Corsair Obsidian 650D | Seasonic X-650 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | Phenom II X4 955 | Noctua NH-D14 | 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 | ASUS HD6950 DirectCU II 2GB | OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | 2x WD Green 1TB

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Wed May 25, 2005 11:12 am

Another good link: Fab51, updated this week.

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Wed May 25, 2005 12:17 pm

the sempron 3300+ 90nm seems tempting.. but only 32bit lol. it'll be interesting to see what happens when i'm ready to buy around October. maybe Intel will have 65nm Celeron that are 64bit and P < 20W :]

Thanks for all the help guys!

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Fri May 27, 2005 6:16 am

the Turion is supposed to not have a heatspreader? i think the amd 64 mobile's are same? if so, how would you place a xp-120 heatsink? anyone done anything similar?

Thanks

~El~Jefe~
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: New York City zzzz
Contact:

Post by ~El~Jefe~ » Sun May 29, 2005 2:22 pm

perplex wrote:the sempron 3300+ 90nm seems tempting.. but only 32bit lol. it'll be interesting to see what happens when i'm ready to buy around October. maybe Intel will have 65nm Celeron that are 64bit and P < 20W :]

Thanks for all the help guys!
sempron is as tempting as a cup full of broken glass. mmm. so tempting :roll:


I wouldnt say that anything that is already outdated to be in the "tempting" slot. I mean, its like a chip made for companies so that they can ride the new wave of AMD computing without actually putting a good chip in it.

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Sun May 29, 2005 3:05 pm

~El~Jefe~ wrote:sempron is as tempting as a cup full of broken glass. mmm. so tempting :roll:
Come on! Did you see what he was going to use it for?
no gaming at all. 2D only ;] ... the basic stuff like web browsing, listening to music on computer.
Please tell me why would he buy any better?

derekva
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 am
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Contact:

Post by derekva » Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:59 pm

~El~Jefe~ wrote:
perplex wrote:the sempron 3300+ 90nm seems tempting.. but only 32bit lol. it'll be interesting to see what happens when i'm ready to buy around October. maybe Intel will have 65nm Celeron that are 64bit and P < 20W :]

Thanks for all the help guys!
sempron is as tempting as a cup full of broken glass. mmm. so tempting :roll:


I wouldnt say that anything that is already outdated to be in the "tempting" slot. I mean, its like a chip made for companies so that they can ride the new wave of AMD computing without actually putting a good chip in it.
Trust me, the majority of users are not going to see a huge difference between 32-bit and 64-bit performance (given equal speed processors) for at least a year or two. The big performance boost touted for moving to a 64-bit OS was based on switching from a 32-bit Intel system to a 64-bit AMD system, and we all know how much faster the AMD systems are than the Intel systems due to memory management. If you tell me you will be running greater than 4GB of RAM while running SQL 2005 AND playing a 64-bit version of Far Cry (or whatever is available), then I see your point about 64-bit versus 32-bit. My guess is you *won't* be doing that.

In certain applications the Sempron 3300+ 90nm is a far better choice than a Athlon 64 of an equivalent speed (e.g. 3200+). For example as a Windows Media Center PC (which is strictly a 32-bit program). The Sempron has a lower heat output than the Athlon 64, with near-equivalent Windows Media Player Encoding performance (which is the core of what you are doing with MCE) due to the identical memory-management architecture.

Cheers! :)

-Derek

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Tue Jun 14, 2005 1:32 pm

I guess you've all seen that Sempron will get 64 bit extensions, they got the E6 stepping and will show up within a month or two.

perplex
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:29 pm
Location: Club Tropicana

Post by perplex » Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:49 pm

i heard sempron might be going 939 pin? :( or is that just a rumour.

how will the E6 stepping affect power consumption?

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Sat Jun 18, 2005 10:34 am

perplex wrote:how will the E6 stepping affect power consumption?
The E6 stepping is an improvement of the E3 stepping, AMD have fixed some bugs (page 11). Maybe it will affect the power consumption but I don't think so.

Post Reply