quietest CPU cooler that doesn't clog w/ dust?

Cooling Processors quietly

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
kenyee
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:04 pm

quietest CPU cooler that doesn't clog w/ dust?

Post by kenyee » Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:32 am

Anyone know what the best AM3 cooler is that won't clog w/ dust after 6 months and run 20C higher in temp? :-)

b_rubenstein
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:03 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post by b_rubenstein » Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:24 am

Yeah, the one that's in a case that has air filters.

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7680
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:16 pm

Right, the heatsink that is immune to dust clogging has not been invented yet.

Having said that, a big tower heatsink that has the fan blowing through the fins that is open all the way through is not going to collect as much dust, and it may well have the "headroom" to avoid a large temperature rise?
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

b_rubenstein
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:03 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post by b_rubenstein » Tue Jul 06, 2010 5:47 pm

Well, if dirty, dusty air is going to be passed through the cooler, then the less air the better.

The fan should be under auto control so its speed is determined by the CPU temp, and the set point for the temp should be fairly high. People like to keep their CPU as cool as possible, but what is actually important is to not let it go above the CPU's mfg's limit. If the CPU is kept to it's maker's nominal Vcc and not allowed to go above its temp range it will last far longer than anyone would want to use it.

With lower fan speeds it takes longer for the HS to clog up and there is reserve fan speed as dust accumulates.

I've taken apart some old PCs that have been run for many years and accumulated tons of crap inside and still run fine.

mkk
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 1:51 pm
Location: Gefle, Sweden
Contact:

Post by mkk » Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:47 am

Try a Mugen 2, its relatively wide fin spacing will also help. Some improvised dust filter like a piece of thin open fabric strapped over or taped onto the fan can make a good difference.

KadazanPL
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Poland

Post by KadazanPL » Wed Jul 07, 2010 5:45 am

Scythe Ninja 2 has the widest fin spacing. I haven't noticed any clogging, but my Antec Solo has air filters on intakes.

BlackWhizz
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:19 am
Location: OV, The Netherlands

Post by BlackWhizz » Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:59 am

Get somekind of tower cooler with easily removable fan. That way you can easy dust out the cooler. You cant protect your pc to all dust. Some will get in if you want it or not. Dust filters will work to but you still have to clean your pc once in a while.
My quiet P180 Mini PC
Q6600 Xigmatek HDT-S1283 + TR Bolt Thru | MSI R5770 (soon a)Arctic Accelero S1 rev 2 | 4Gb ram | Asus P5Q-VM | 2.6TB storage | OCZ ModXStream Pro 500w

sjoukew
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:51 am
Location: The Netherlands (NL)
Contact:

Post by sjoukew » Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:28 am

An case with dust filters do really help. Since I have an antec p180 I only have to clean the air-filters, the cpu- and vga coolers are still clean enough after 2 year :)

BlackWhizz
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 8:19 am
Location: OV, The Netherlands

Post by BlackWhizz » Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:53 am

sjoukew wrote:An case with dust filters do really help. Since I have an antec p180 I only have to clean the air-filters, the cpu- and vga coolers are still clean enough after 2 year :)
You probably have a overpressure situation in your case.

I got an underpressure with my P180 mini (200mm moves hella lot more air than the 120's. My cooler catches some dust but comparing to my old situation this pc catches a lot less dust. Thanks to the dust filters.
My quiet P180 Mini PC
Q6600 Xigmatek HDT-S1283 + TR Bolt Thru | MSI R5770 (soon a)Arctic Accelero S1 rev 2 | 4Gb ram | Asus P5Q-VM | 2.6TB storage | OCZ ModXStream Pro 500w

Redzo
Posts: 464
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Post by Redzo » Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:50 pm

b_rubenstein wrote:Yeah, the one that's in a case that has air filters.
+1
what a question for gods sake OP !

I can also add: cooler that is in a case with dust filters, and where a house owner knows how to use a vacuum cleaner now and then.

tay
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 793
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:56 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Post by tay » Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:48 pm

Tough crowd at SPCR sheesh.... Although Air filter suggestions reminds me, could we use speaker grill covering cloth as a filter? Would make good filter for the BIG dust particles.
Phenom II 555 (3 cores unlocked) 1.275v - 4GB - Xigmatek 1293 Cooler - WD 64 GB SSD -CM Mystique - Antec NeoHE 550 - Saphire 6870
e6300 - 2 GB DDR - P180 - Scythe Mine - Samsung 400 GB - 3 120mm fans
imac 7,1 C2D 2.0, 3 GB 250GB.
macbook C2D 2.4 3 GB 320GB Samsung M7E

Redzo
Posts: 464
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 1:51 am
Location: Sweden, Stockholm

Post by Redzo » Fri Jul 09, 2010 3:30 am

tay wrote:Tough crowd at SPCR sheesh.... Although Air filter suggestions reminds me, could we use speaker grill covering cloth as a filter? Would make good filter for the BIG dust particles.
Its a very good material for filter. So go for it.

Regarding our "toughness" well, I believe that everybody above age of 7 should know that dust will not remove itself magically...

kenyee
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:04 pm

Post by kenyee » Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:11 pm

Thanks, all. The application is an on all the time server, so vacuuming it out is a PITA (means downtime for the server). And the room is vacuumed, but unfortunately has carpeting :-P
I'll try a case w/ air filters first. Hopefully that'll help even w/ the stock cooler...

deadbolt
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 12:32 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Post by deadbolt » Sat Jul 24, 2010 8:47 pm

Hmm...what to do with those sexy black stocking that have runs in them. Use a cut up nylon (sheer) stocking or a J-cloth over your air intakes so the machine has a clean supply of air. All of the components are going to be better off if they don't have an insulating blanket of dust on them. Check the improvised filter once a month and vacuum or wash it off as necessary.

I'm not sure if this was mentioned but intake filters are useless if the case is under a negative pressure.

dhanson865
Posts: 2198
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Location: TN, USA

Post by dhanson865 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 9:15 am

mkk wrote:Try a Mugen 2, its relatively wide fin spacing will also help. Some improvised dust filter like a piece of thin open fabric strapped over or taped onto the fan can make a good difference.
Yes lets look at fin spacing a second. The list below is sorted by fin spacing and shows the overall SPCR rating for the heatsink.

Code: Select all

Heatsink name            fin spacing rating
Scythe Ninja 2           3.68 mm     7.5
Thermalright HR-01 Plus  3.15 mm     9
Noctua NH-U12P           2.63 mm     9
Noctua NH-D14            2.33 mm     9.5
Prolimatech Armageddon   2.08 mm     9
Prolimatech Megahalems   2.00 mm     9.5
Zalman CNPS10X Quiet     2.00 mm     9
Xigmatek HDT-S1283       1.96 mm     9
Scythe Mugen-2           1.89 mm     9
now lets sort by rating then fin spacing

Code: Select all

Heatsink name            fin spacing rating
Noctua NH-D14            2.33 mm     9.5
Prolimatech Megahalems   2.00 mm     9.5

Thermalright HR-01 Plus  3.15 mm     9
Noctua NH-U12P           2.63 mm     9
Prolimatech Armageddon   2.08 mm     9
Zalman CNPS10X Quiet     2.00 mm     9
Xigmatek HDT-S1283       1.96 mm     9
Scythe Mugen-2           1.89 mm     9
I guess if I knew that there would be dust in the HS I'd go for the Thermalright HR-01 Plus but I'd still want to clean the HS as needed as no heat sink will work as well with dust as it does without dust.
.
Please put a country in your profile if you haven't already.
This site is international but I'll assume you are in the US if you don't tell me otherwise.
RAID levels thread http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=388987

Post Reply